Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shards of the Throne» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Blockaded" Arobec Ground Forces? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Mitchell
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The FAQ clearly states that Arobec Ground Forces can build ships, but nothing I can find addresses the situation of what happens if hostile ships are in orbit. Since there is no suggestion that Arobec Ground Forces can be blockaded as Space Docks are, can they still build ships and do those ships then immediately engage the enemy's ships, as with that Action card which allows you to build ships at a blockaded Space Dock?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since the build step happens AFTER the Space Battle step, and the rules don't give an explanation for overruling this, I think the implied way of handling this is that they cannot build ships when enemy ships are present.

They seem to follow all the normal rules of building that SDs have, with a few extra restrictions (such as not building with Production secondary unless an actual SD is there.)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Porter
United States
Bangor
Maine
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sigmazero13 wrote:
Since the build step happens AFTER the Space Battle step, and the rules don't give an explanation for overruling this, I think the implied way of handling this is that they cannot build ships when enemy ships are present.

They seem to follow all the normal rules of building that SDs have, with a few extra restrictions (such as not building with Production secondary unless an actual SD is there.)


Agreed. This is how I'd handle this as well; I just can't type as fast as Scott, apparently.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Mitchell
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In any case, they REALLY should have addressed this in the most recent FAQ.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Cohen
United States
San Mateo
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A good way of thinking about it is this:
You can't have two different races ships in the same hex without a space battle
You can't build in a way that would result in a Space Battle needing to happen out of turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nikola Pinjuh
Croatia
Zagreb
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
I asked similar question on FFG site and this was the answer;

Quote:
Arborec Ground forces must follow all building rules, including being affected by blockades.

I hope this answers your question!
-Corey Konieczka
VP of R&D
Fantasy Flight Games
4 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Mitchell
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
swordwielder wrote:
I asked similar question on FFG site and this was the answer;

Quote:
Arborec Ground forces must follow all building rules, including being affected by blockades.

I hope this answers your question!
-Corey Konieczka
VP of R&D
Fantasy Flight Games


Thanks, Swordwielder! Now that's a definitive answer!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nikola Pinjuh
Croatia
Zagreb
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Cheers!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.