Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shards of the Throne» Forums » Rules

Subject: Internal Unrest rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shane Cagney
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
This came up at our last game. Can you play the Internal Unrest action card on yourself? Because if you can turn your own planets to neutral, then you can attack them and qualify for Victory Points without having to invade enemy territory.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
The AC is called Local Unrest. You may play it on yourself to revert the planet to neutral. That is only good for the "I took control of X planets" objective if it is your X'th planet, or if you have another AC that rewards you for taking over a neutral planet.

If the objective specifically speaks of taking a planet from an enemy GF, you may not get that objective through Local Unrest, since there will be no enemy GF on that planet. However, you may play it on someone to reduce the number of GFs you have to fight against.

Personally, my playstyle is to use Local Unrest on the most costly target, aka a planet with 1 GF, 1 SD, and 2 PDS units. If the objective comes up to take over X planets, taking them from another player is usually the better option.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gagner
United States
Maple Grove
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You could also use Local Unrest on yourself if you had a Rare Minerals in your hand and there wasn't any neutral planets left.
There is nothing stopping you from using it against yourself.
There are a few cards that mention "opponents" but this isn't one of them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.