Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Colonial: Europe's Empires Overseas» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification of Merchant role rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you execute the merchant role, you can ship goods from anywhere, correct?

So even if you have no "trading posts" or counters in territories, you can ship goods from players who allow you to ship goods they control?

I ask because my original reading led me to believe a player could only ship from places he was participating in, but when I taught the game tonight, it occurred to me I was making that up.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christophe Pont
Switzerland
Geneva
Geneva
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
out4blood wrote:
When you execute the merchant role, you can ship goods from anywhere, correct?

So even if you have no "trading posts" or counters in territories, you can ship goods from players who allow you to ship goods they control?



Yes Tim.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ingo Griebsch
Germany
Bochum
North Rhine-Westphalia
flag msg tools
Coding Architect | Husband and father | Boardgame addict | Loves Clutch as well as Tricky
badge
Coding Architect | Husband and father | Boardgame addict | Loves Clutch as well as Tricky
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
@Tim: I will highjack this thread for another merchant role question. Hope this is ok...

To the question: If I have no merchant fleets in my box but privateers, can I use the merchant role to get rid of the privateers with my naval forces (even if I can't transport some goods and the privateers can't attack me)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christophe Pont
Switzerland
Geneva
Geneva
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
According to the rules, yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.