Subject: Why I think people are having trouble with this game. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike
United States
West Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
I read a lot of posts and there seem to be several common themes.

1) The game takes too long.
2) The game is somehow imbalanced with specialized tech.
3) Large ships are less capable than specialized ships.
4) The game needs alternate victory conditions.
5) The game favors defense.
6) X technology is useless or not economically viable.

To me, these complaints sound similar to new players at real time strategy games like starcraft or brawlers like Street Fighter. This is going to be a long post, but hang on, hear me out. I am by no means an expert at this game, or any brawler or RTS game, but it seems to me there are similarities to people new with the games.

TL;DR - The game is very complex despite the simple rules. There is a learning curve. Experiment over several games and treat it like a real time strategy game or brawler rather than risk. Mind games, strategy, and tactics play a big part in this game so simply using a Civ style "stack of death" is wasting a lot of potential.

1) The game takes too long.

The rules of this game are simple enough. Except for the first play or two the rules should not be a problem. To me this has more to do with the learning curve you have to get over to develop long term strategies rather than using turn by turn thinking. It's like starting a game of starcraft and not having a goal to defeat your opponent. You will flounder around building whatever seems good at the time without ever building synergy in your army.

This also occurs when you don't know how to do damage. For instance in a game like street fighter, rounds last far longer if you don't know how to do combos because you're doing far less damage per hit. In starcraft it's like not knowing how to ramp up production or how to use your units once you have them.