Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Axis & Allies» Forums » Rules

Subject: Using ally's industrial complexes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lee Meister
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Situation:
Britain has an industrial complex in India which it has held for the entire game, and American tanks are the only units there. At some point, Germany captures United Kingdom, and Britain loses its capital.

Applicable Rules:
PHASE 6: MOBILIZE NEW UNITS - Restrictions on Placement (Page 22):
Quote:

You can mobilize only a number of units up to the income value of the territory containing the industrial complex. You cannot place your new units at an industrial complex owned by a friendly power, unless its capital is in enemy hands (see Liberating a Territory on page 18).


Liberating a Territory (Page 18, first paragraph, second column):
Quote:
If the original controller’s capital is in enemy hands when you liberate the territory, you collect income for the newly captured territory and can use any industrial complex there until the original controller’s capital is liberated.


Question:
The rule on Page 22 makes it sound as if at any time Britain's capital is in enemy hands, then its industrial complex in India (or anywhere else) may be used to mobilize new American units. However, the rule on Page 18 makes it sound like this is true only if the Americans had actually liberated India from an axis opponent, which is not true in the situation above. Also, Page 22 makes it sound as if Russia may also be able to mobilize units in India on its turn, so long as Britain has not reclaimed its capital. Please clarify this, as there appears to be a conflict.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule on page 22 is poorly worded. You may only mobilize units from an industrial complex if you control it, and you can only take control of an ally's territory by recapturing it from the enemy while while your ally's capital is already in enemy hands. In other words, the rule on page 18 is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.