Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Eruption» Forums » Rules

Subject: Aftershock Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Salch
United States
Bristol
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the aftershock rotate a tile 360 degrees. This would remove the walls of someones village. Would not get any additional action cards?

Is this a good play?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris James
United States
Payson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, rotating a tile 360 degrees with an Aftershock card would be a valid move. As you point out, it would cause any walls that are built on that tile to be discarded and no additional Action Cards would be earned. However, a wall that is built on a village border would not be affected by this action since it is not built on that tile.

As for whether or not it is a good play, there are probably better uses for it, such as retrieving a Stone wall, rotating a tile defensively, or achieving better placement next to a village. Using it for 360 degree rotation is similar to a Volcanic Bomb card, except the Volcanic Bomb would allow you to remove any wall, even if built on a village border. The one advantage of using 360 degree rotation versus using a Volcanic Bomb card is to remove multiple walls from a single tile, where the Volcanic Bomb could only remove one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Salch
United States
Bristol
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, I guess we played that wrong.
Actually we made 2 mistakes, one was to get action cards,
the other was to elimiate walls on a village.

I guess we need to be more precise as to where exactly the walls are.

Thanks
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ender Wiggins
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
stratus wrote:
Yes, rotating a tile 360 degrees with an Aftershock card would be a valid move. As you point out, it would cause any walls that are built on that tile to be discarded and no additional Action Cards would be earned. However, a wall that is built on a village border would not be affected by this action since it is not built on that tile.

I think we've been playing this last part (underlined) wrong as well. Could you reference where in the rules we could find this explained? I suppose it does make good sense thematically.

If such a wall is considered to be on the village border and not on the tile, why may walls not be built on a lava flow tile next to a village border (as explicitly prohibited in picture #4 on page 4)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris James
United States
Payson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
I think we've been playing this last part (underlined) wrong as well. Could you reference where in the rules we could find this explained? I suppose it does make good sense thematically.


In the Action Cards section (page 6), the first clarification on the right side of the page states: "if a tile with one or more walls is rotated, replaced, or removed, the walls are immediately discarded from the board." Walls that are built on a lava flow are associated with an individual tile (see the explanation and examples on page 4). Thus, when a tile is rotated, only the walls associated with that tile are affected. Since the walls in a village are not associated with a tile, it is implied that they are not affected by the actions used on a tile.

Since this seems to be a common error, an explicit explanation will be considered for future versions.

Quote:
If such a wall is considered to be on the village border and not on the tile, why may walls not be built on a lava flow tile next to a village border (as explicitly prohibited in picture #4 on page 4)?


That picture is a visual representation of the rule in the paragraph above it that states: "[Walls that are built on a lava flow] can only be built where it is possible to place a tile next to them (not next to a village border or the edge of the grid between villages)". The picture shows a wall that is erroneously built next to the village border. This rule is included because of the distinct nature of walls that are built on a lava tile versus those that are built in a village. Walls that are built on a lava tile have the specific purpose of preventing other tiles from being placed next to them. The strength of these walls is never tested unless and until a player attempts to place a tile next to them. Obviously, a tile cannot be placed within a village, therefore building a wall on a lava tile directly next to a village is prohibited because it makes no sense to do so in regard to the purpose of these walls.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.