Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Walking Dead: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dice Pool rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Tucker
United States
Warren
Michigan
flag msg tools
A game is a series of decisions; a good game is a series of interesting decisions
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state:
Walking Dead Rules p.3 wrote:
Determine your “Dice Pool” by adding up all the
different colored dice on your Survivors (that is,
your Starting Character and any Followers).

and
Walking Dead Rules p.6 wrote:
To determine your Dice Pool, look at each of your
Survivors and count the dice pictured on each card.
Add them together. This total is your Dice Pool.

and
Walking Dead Rules p.10 wrote:
When an Encounter card instructs you to draw a
follower from the Follower deck, draw the top card and
add it to your party. Be sure to follow any instructions
on the card, and add their dice to your Dice Pool.


There is not a lot of dice provided with the game. Is the "Dice Pool" component limited? Across all players? For a single player?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathon Rose
msg tools
The components on the box/rulebook only list 4 of each kind of dice, and 1 ammo dice. So no, you have to share dice much akin to "Descent: Journeys in the dark."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Tucker
United States
Warren
Michigan
flag msg tools
A game is a series of decisions; a good game is a series of interesting decisions
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tetrisphreak wrote:
The components on the box/rulebook only list 4 of each kind of dice, and 1 ammo dice. So no, you have to share dice much akin to "Descent: Journeys in the dark."

This would be an answer to the "Across all players?" part of the question, but not the "for a single player?" question. This was the conclusion we came to as well, because otherwise the game would be exceedingly brutal with the max player count.

However, this still doesn't answer the question "Is the Dice Pool component limited for a single player?"
If you already have 4 red dice in your dice pool, and you get a Follower who adds a red die to your dice pool, can you roll one of the red dice a second time?
We think the game is component limited for a single player, but the rulebook doesn't seem to directly address this.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobby Doran
United States
Simi Valley
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I had the same question. When playing solo your pool seems to get really big if you have a bunch of followers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul S
msg tools
From the FAQ at http://www.walkingdeadboardgame.com/faq.html

"What do I do if my dice pool results in more of a dice color than is provided in the game?

You would reroll as many dice as necessary. We recommend rerolling blank results first."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.