Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Walking Dead: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Resource space encounters rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Tucker
United States
Warren
Michigan
flag msg tools
A game is a series of decisions; a good game is a series of interesting decisions
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules state:
Walking Dead Rules p.3 wrote:
If you are on a resource space, draw an Encounter
card for each resource icon.
Collect any resource(s) on the space you are on
regardless of your success, unless the failure result
instructs you not to.

and
Walking Dead Rules p.8 wrote:
For EACH resource icon on a space the player
MUST draw one Encounter card from the deck
and face the challenge described on that card.
These cards are drawn in order, with the first
card drawn being fully resolved before the next
is drawn.
Regardless of the outcome of the challenge you
may collect one of any of the indicated resources
on the space you are in. (Exception: Some Fail
consequences may mean that you will not gain
resources this turn). Move your resource marker
along the Resource Tracker portion of your
Character Sheet to track additional resources.

and
Walking Dead Rules p.10 wrote:
Occasionally, you will be instructed to
“leave a follower behind”, or place a
follower at the nearest Starting Location. When this
happens, put the chosen Follower card aside, remove
their dice from your Dice Pool, find the matching
Follower Marker and place the marker on the board.
This represents a trapped follower.
Any player may try to collect that follower. Treat the
Follower Marker just like a resource; when any player
moves on to that space, they draw an Encounter
card to try to collect that follower. If the encounter is
resolved successfully, collect the follower (along with
any other success result). If the encounter challenge is
failed, the follower remains trapped.


There are no spaces on the board with multiple resource icons of the same type. However, could you, on a space with all three different resource icons and two follower icons, have 5 encounters and (assuming none of the encounter results indicate being prevented from taking a resource) take a food after each encounter (instead of the other resources or one of the followers)?

That seems to be the way the rules read, but again there are no examples and clarification would be helpful.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Hill
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My take on this is that for each encounter you can take a resource (as long as the card's failure text indicates you can't). So if a space has two resources, you take two encounters. Once the first one is resolved, you pick up one of the two resources shown in the space. Ditto for the second encounter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wade Jones
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
I've tried it a few different ways and the way I like to play is you do an encounter for each resource or follower.
So if there's ammo, food and a follower we would say "This is for the food" and do that encounter, then "This is for Carl" and do another encounter and so on.

One thing I'm unclear on is if you fail the challenge and it says collect no resources, if that should apply for all the resources (and followers?) on that space... or just for the one resource the encounter is for.
We've been playing it as the latter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul S
msg tools
Items on a space are processed in this order:

Zombie tokens - clear all zombies before moving on to followers

Followers - one encounter per follower (declare which one before drawing the encounter card). You must succeed at the encounter to pick up that follower. Repeat if multiple followers. You cannot pick up a resource (like food) in place of the follower. You either get the follower or you don't.

Resources - one encounter per resource shown in the space. You do not need to declare which resource each encounter is for. Run all encounters to completion first (1, 2 or 3 depending on # of resources on that space), then once all encounters are complete, gather the resources shown on the spot regardless of the outcome of the encounters you just ran.

If any encounter gave explicit instructions that you cannot collect any resources for this encounter, that is one less resource (you choose which one to forfeit) which you can pick up. You can't substitute resources, so if the spot had bullets, gas, and food, and no encounter card said forfeit resources, you pick up a bullet, a gas, and a food, not 3 foods. If one encounter of the 3 events said forfeit resources, you can pick up a bullet and gas, a bullet and food, or gas and food (up to you), just not all 3.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.