Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Card Play in Combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sword of Damocles
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Alexander is gonna get Crushed CC:E Xmas 2014
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick question bout the play of event cards in combat.

The rules state in the combat process that card play is conducted (Attacker plays one, then Defender etc.) before dice are thrown. That said many (most?) of the cards have differing quasi-conflicting instructions, such as play before dice are rolled, or after. Some are kind of nebulous such as Knight's Cross; do you state that you want a re-roll before the dice are cast, or after? just wondering if there is any guidance here, it feels a bit loose.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right. You can play one card (only) before the Combat is resolved.

But if you have some cards that instructs you to be played at some other point (ex: Iron Cross), then you can use them even if you already played a card at the start of the combat phase. You do not have to state in advance.

Do not forget this Event Card rule:

[5.3.2] Event Precedence: When there is a conflict between Event text and the Rules, the Event text takes precedence.

I did try to make sure that no weird conflicts could happen with the cards. But there is 110 possible events, and an almost infinite combination of these. Hopefully there should not be too many of those occurrences. If there is, ask me.



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.