Gabriele Pezzato
Italy
Padova
PD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In a 6 players game all tracks in a double or triple route can be claimed. But can they be claimed by the same player or by the members of the same team or are there restrictions like normal TtR (one player cannot claim both tracks of a double route)? This is not covered in the official rules
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mousey
Netherlands
Je suis Paris
flag msg tools
ESSEN The Game: SPIEL '13 Featuring Jonah
badge
RIP Jonah Lomu 1975-2015
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can not claim a route twice.
So it has to be another player to claim that second track.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriele Pezzato
Italy
Padova
PD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mousey wrote:
You can not claim a route twice.
So it has to be another player to claim that second track.

But if I claim a track in a double or triple route, can then my team mate claim the other one(s)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Redford
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To make it easier, a single color cannot claim a route twice. So in a regular game, a single player cannot claim the same route, and in a team game, a team cannot claim the same route.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriele Pezzato
Italy
Padova
PD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DoomTurtle wrote:
To make it easier, a single color cannot claim a route twice. So in a regular game, a single player cannot claim the same route, and in a team game, a team cannot claim the same route.

That makes sense, although by triple routes the rules explicitly say both players on a same team may claim one track each
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GabrielGeek wrote:
DoomTurtle wrote:
To make it easier, a single color cannot claim a route twice. So in a regular game, a single player cannot claim the same route, and in a team game, a team cannot claim the same route.

That makes sense, although by triple routes the rules explicitly say both players on a same team may claim one track each

That makes sence, but is wrong. As GabrielGeek said in 4-players game both teammates can claim the same route and this is expanded for double and triple routes in 6-players game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Hall
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
Radziol wrote:
As GabrielGeek said in 4-players game both teammates can claim the same route and this is expanded for double and triple routes in 6-players game.

It has never been stated that both teammates can claim track on the same double route. The rules state that both teammates can claim the same route on a triple route in 4-player, and this has been clarified (by Eric from Days of Wonder) to apply to 6-player. However, to my knowledge, nowhere has this been stated to apply to double routes, only to triple routes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Hautemont
United States
Los Altos
California
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes two teammates can collaborate to take both routes of a double route (they must each take one though, not one player taking both).

8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vince Lupo
United States
ALEXANDRIA
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Erich wrote:
Yes two teammates can collaborate to take both routes of a double route (they must each take one though, not one player taking both).




How do you track that? Should one player play their trains on their side for a double route?


Also, this part in the rules was SO badly worded!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Wraith wrote:
Radziol wrote:
As GabrielGeek said in 4-players game both teammates can claim the same route and this is expanded for double and triple routes in 6-players game.

It has never been stated that both teammates can claim track on the same double route. The rules state that both teammates can claim the same route on a triple route in 4-player, and this has been clarified (by Eric from Days of Wonder) to apply to 6-player. However, to my knowledge, nowhere has this been stated to apply to double routes, only to triple routes.

Has this point ever been fully clarified? Two minutes into reading the rules and this point was already bugging me. It's so un-TTR -- I guess you'd need markers handy just to remember which teammate claimed a route portion.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Hall
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
AstroLad wrote:
Has this point ever been fully clarified?

Read the rest of the thread. Eric (from Days of Wonder) provided the clarification in the post immediately after the one you quoted.

BTW, Eric, thanks for the additional clarification. It really would have been best to include that information in your earlier clarification, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I see, thanks. Didn't realize that was an official person.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Fisher
United States
Downingtown
PA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Neo42 wrote:
Erich wrote:
Yes two teammates can collaborate to take both routes of a double route (they must each take one though, not one player taking both).




How do you track that? Should one player play their trains on their side for a double route?


Also, this part in the rules was SO badly worded!


How do people track this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vince Lupo
United States
ALEXANDRIA
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lfisher wrote:
Neo42 wrote:
Erich wrote:
Yes two teammates can collaborate to take both routes of a double route (they must each take one though, not one player taking both).




How do you track that? Should one player play their trains on their side for a double route?


Also, this part in the rules was SO badly worded!


How do people track this?



It hasn't been an issue for us yet, but that's what we would do, or we would probably remember I guess.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.