Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Thunderstone» Forums » Rules

Subject: Border guard rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony Lam
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The border guard has 2 dungeon effect
1) draw a new card then discard 1 card
2) attack +1 and protect one hero from destroy.

My question is whether I could discard the border guard itself. And if i could, do I still be able to use the 2nd dungeon effect?

I think the answer is yes because I can activate all the effects and discard this card. Then, I apply these activated effect later in the turn after I killed the monster. Does it work this way?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Piotr Szaniawski
Sweden
Knivsta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can't find anything definitively clearing that up on the forums, but my group plays with the rule that you cannot discard the Border Guard with its own ability.

As for the bonus attack and protect ability of the Border Guard, you can't use those if the card is not in your hand! That should be rather obvious.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Lam
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
This is where I got the confusion. Use Barkeep as example, u can activate the village effect which allow u to buy 2 items and then destroy it for 2 gold. Thus destroying the card will not preclude u from using the buy 2 item village effect. So I guess once the effect is activated, u can use it anytime and without the need to have the card on hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Piotr Szaniawski
Sweden
Knivsta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thunderstone Rules wrote:
1. Reveal your hand.
2. You may use some, none, or all of the Dungeon Effects from your cards.
Unless the card has a mandatory Effect (like Disease), you are not required
to use all Spells or Effects. You may equip one Weapon to each Hero, if the
Strength requirements are met (see page 6).
3. Declare which Monster and rank you are attacking.
4. Resolve the battle. See “Battles” on page 10.
a. Calculate your total Attack Value, including all Light Penalties.
b. Resolve Battle Effects (adjust Attack Value as necessary).
c. Place an undefeated Monster on the bottom of the Dungeon Deck.
d. Place defeated Monster and Disease cards on your discard pile.
e. Receive Spoils (if any).
f. Shift Monster cards to fill empty ranks, and refill the Dungeon Hall.
g. Resolve Breach Effects (if any) (see page 19).
5. End your turn by discarding all cards (whether used or not) face up on
your discard pile, and draw six new cards to form a new hand

You don't get the +1 attack, since total attack is calculated only after using all dungeon effects.

Tony wrote:
So I guess once the effect is activated, u can use it anytime and without the need to have the card on hand.

Look at the card, his protection ability is NOT a dungeon effect, so it's not triggered before the battle together with dungeon effects. If the Border Guard goes into the discard pile, you no longer have access to him and can't take him back from the discard pile to destroy him instead of a hero. Once he hits the discard pile, you lose the access to his attack and protection.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Lam
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I looked at the card again, that effect is part of the 2nd Dungeon effect. So I guess it is arguable that it could be triggered before the battle together with dungeon effects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Metzler
United States
Glendale
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
"Are you pondering what I'm pondering Pinky?"
badge
"Wuhhh... I think so, Brain, but if a ham can operate a radio, why can't a pig set a VCR?"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pszaniawski wrote:
Thunderstone Rules wrote:
1. Reveal your hand.
2. You may use some, none, or all of the Dungeon Effects from your cards.
Unless the card has a mandatory Effect (like Disease), you are not required
to use all Spells or Effects. You may equip one Weapon to each Hero, if the
Strength requirements are met (see page 6).
3. Declare which Monster and rank you are attacking.
4. Resolve the battle. See “Battles” on page 10.
a. Calculate your total Attack Value, including all Light Penalties.
b. Resolve Battle Effects (adjust Attack Value as necessary).
c. Place an undefeated Monster on the bottom of the Dungeon Deck.
d. Place defeated Monster and Disease cards on your discard pile.
e. Receive Spoils (if any).
f. Shift Monster cards to fill empty ranks, and refill the Dungeon Hall.
g. Resolve Breach Effects (if any) (see page 19).
5. End your turn by discarding all cards (whether used or not) face up on
your discard pile, and draw six new cards to form a new hand

You don't get the +1 attack, since total attack is calculated only after using all dungeon effects.

Tony wrote:
So I guess once the effect is activated, u can use it anytime and without the need to have the card on hand.

Look at the card, his protection ability is NOT a dungeon effect, so it's not triggered before the battle together with dungeon effects. If the Border Guard goes into the discard pile, you no longer have access to him and can't take him back from the discard pile to destroy him instead of a hero. Once he hits the discard pile, you lose the access to his attack and protection.


Correct, the second effect is NOT a dungeon effect. Thus it is an inherent ability that triggers ONLY when he is present and a hero is destroyed. If you discard him earlier, he wont be there...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.