Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Regional Infantry units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Davidson

Livonia
Michigan
msg tools
Kirk "The Man" Douglas (Vikings)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not that I would mind you, but it seems I am allowed to move these guys around and then upgrade them to a fortified unit anywhere, or can I only do it in the city named on them?

Cheers
Kevin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zhodanicommando wrote:
Not that I would mind you, but it seems I am allowed to move these guys around and then upgrade them to a fortified unit anywhere, or can I only do it in the city named on them?

Cheers
Kevin


You can do this anywhere. Look at some of the scenarios, you'llsee some deployed at various location.

Do NOT forget that these lose their Zones of Control when fortified! So put them where ypur opponent must pass, or he will just move around easily.

Also, do not forgeteither that these units are the only one the Russian player can improve with a card discard before Spring 1944 ( when all the other Soviet counters also become 2-steps units ).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Davidson

Livonia
Michigan
msg tools
Kirk "The Man" Douglas (Vikings)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good points, I also notice for free they can revert back to regional infantry units, or if they take a step loss they also revert back to regional infantry unit. So later on they could flip back to a fortress unit with a discard, and go back and forth through out the game. That's how I read it, but just need reinforcing.

Cheers
Kevin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, you got it right!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Hurst
United States
Gastonia
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And these do not have to be placed initially in their 'named' locations, correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tarheel wrote:
And these do not have to be placed initially in their 'named' locations, correct?


Correct!

But I strongly suggest it.

And to repeat myself: Do not forget that when fortified they lose their ZOCs.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Büttner-Zimmermann
Germany
München
Bavaria
flag msg tools
badge
Wiggle It!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
licinius wrote:

But I strongly suggest it.

Ahem... why?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Berg Asklev Hansen
Denmark
Vejle
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
because Moscow, Leningrad and Sevastopol are objective cities as well as being critically important geographical locations on the map.

Try loosing 1 or 2 of them and see how it goes

Brian
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
brian asklev aursen wrote:
because Moscow, Leningrad and Sevastopol are objective cities as well as being critically important geographical locations on the map.

Try loosing 1 or 2 of them and see how it goes

Brian


BTW, if you lose all three you also will probably lose the game.

Axis Objectives Victory: During any Victory Phase, when
they have the Initiative (12.9), the Axis win if they control
(12.7.1) and can trace supply (6.0) to three of the five gray
German Objective hexes (e.g., Moscow). After they lose
the Initiative (Turn 12), they need to control four German
Objective hexes instead.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.