Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Munchkin» Forums » Rules

Subject: cards in play can/not go back into your hand... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Pickett
United States
Albany
Oregon
flag msg tools
I've played Munchkin for years with the idea I can't put cards in play back into my hand. But tonight, a newer player asked me to point out the rule, and I couldn't find it... and it was a brand new set of rules with the 2010 format! He also pointed out you can only have 1 big item in play. So does this mean you can only have 1 big item, even if you can't use one and you turn it sideways? Thanks for any help you guys can give me
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Wardell
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
May 25
badge
I think you ought to know I'm feeling very depressed.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RaineAndrews wrote:
I've played Munchkin for years with the idea I can't put cards in play back into my hand. But tonight, a newer player asked me to point out the rule, and I couldn't find it... and it was a brand new set of rules with the 2010 format!


There's no rule that says you can put cards from play back into your hand.

There's no rule that specifically says you can't look through the treasure deck and take any card you want. Would he argue that he should be able to do that?

RaineAndrews wrote:
He also pointed out you can only have 1 big item in play. So does this mean you can only have 1 big item, even if you can't use one and you turn it sideways? Thanks for any help you guys can give me


Yes, you can only carry one big item (unless you're a dwarf).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Louis Cypher
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Khedron wrote:


RaineAndrews wrote:
He also pointed out you can only have 1 big item in play. So does this mean you can only have 1 big item, even if you can't use one and you turn it sideways? Thanks for any help you guys can give me


Yes, you can only carry one big item (unless you're a dwarf).



Well, IMHO if you turn a card sideways, it's like you put it in a bottomless 'Stack of Holding' and you can do it with ANY kind and number of items... am I wrong?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 50824. Louis Cypher
  • 1d20 =
  • (19) =
  • 19
  • Sun Sep 4, 2011 7:44 pm
Rick Teverbaugh
United States
Anderson
Indiana (IN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In my opinion you can't have more than one big item put in front of you.

Plus, you can't put cards back into your hand once played unless a card says you can.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emmanouil Giampouras
United Kingdom
Manchester
Lancashire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hskrfn822 wrote:
You may only have one Big Item equipped. You can play Items into your pack as much as you want. If it's in that backpack of holding, they're not equipped, not in use and not being carried. Each Munchkin is carrying the bag. The bag is bottomless and thus, the traits each card has are ignored until you untap them and equip them.


That's incorrect. Every item not in your hand is carried. you can carry only one Big item equipped or not (except if you are a dwarf).

Official rules:
An item card in your hand does not count until you play it;
at that point, it is “carried.” You may carry any number of
small items, but only one Big one. (Any item not designated
Big is considered Small.) You may not simply discard one
Big item to play another; you must sell it, trade it, lose it
to a Curse or Bad Stuff, or discard it to power a Class or
Race ability.
Dwarves are an exception. They can carry any number of
Big items. If you stop being a Dwarf and you have more than
one Big item, you must immediately get rid of all but one.
If it’s your turn, you can sell them. Otherwise, you must
give them to the lowest-Level player(s) who can carry
them! If any Big items are still left over, discard them.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
G K
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
Mattel Electronics Presents
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule your are looking regarding cards in play is right on the first page of the 1.5 rules (Apr 2010);

Under card management:

new Munchkin rules wrote:
Cards in play may not be returned to your hand – they must
be discarded or traded if you want to get rid of them
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.