Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Sword of Rome» Forums » Rules

Subject: Appian Way question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Harry White
United States
Fort Worth
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This came up the last time we played.

The Appian Way was in effect.
The Roman player had a force in Capua and wanted to move using the Appean Way through Rome and beyond to another location. Does he have to use a MP to pick up troops in Antium? Or is passing through Antium considered part of the move from Capua to Rome?

Thanks for any help.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Picking up and dropping off CUs does not cost MPs.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wray Ferrell
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I should hire Dave to answer all my questions Dave's answer is correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harry White
United States
Fort Worth
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, with the Appian Way move, the force traveling from Capua to Rome does not expend an MP to pick up troops anywhere along the path, even if the force does not stop there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wray Ferrell
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
HEWhite wrote:
So, with the Appian Way move, the force traveling from Capua to Rome does not expend an MP to pick up troops anywhere along the path, even if the force does not stop there.


Correct. The Roman player who can build the Appian way and keep it Roman controlled can defend Roman territory quite easily.

Thanks, Wray
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harry White
United States
Fort Worth
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. That was how we played.

I appreciate the quick answers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.