Dave
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We combined the "Virulent Strain" and "Mutation" challenges today. The first epidemic effect was "Rate Effect" ("If at least one infection card of the virulent strain is drawn in an infection phase (and the virulent strain is not eradicated), draw one more infection card than the current infection rate."). During the game, two question arose related to this.

Q1: When a "Mutation!" card was drawn in the infection phase ("Draw a card from the bottom of the infection draw pile and add a purple cube to the pictured city. Discard the card (and this card) into the infection discard pile."), the resulting card drawn from the bottom of the infection draw pile was sometimes of the virulent strain. Does "Rate Effect" come into play, necessitating an additional infection card draw over the current infection rate?

We assumed the answer is "no", since the infection due to the "Mutation!" card is of the purple disease, which cannot be the virulent strain.

Q2: One of us was the "Troubleshooter" ("At your turn's start, peek at the number of cards on top of the infection draw pile equal to the current infection rate."). When peeking, often a card of the virulent strain was discovered. At that point, is the Troubleshooter allowed to look at one more infection card?

We assumed "no" again, since the Troubleshooter's abilities should not increase due to the presence of a virulent strain.

Any thoughts or answers on this? Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tables
United Kingdom
Coventry
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer to the second question is no, and the game designer has even stated as much, for exactly the reason you gave.

The first question, though, I don't know. I would say a strict interpretation would be yes, as you've drawn one of the virulent strain cards, which is the only condition for it (not that it's from the top of the pile, or that a virulent strain cube is added there). However your ruling would make more sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isaiah Tanenbaum
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say that these rulings make total sense.

It's also worth noting that drawing an Epidemic from the player deck isn't during the Infection stage, so your "intensify" card-from-the-bottom pull shouldn't be affected by Rate Change either. Right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ilta wrote:
It's also worth noting that drawing an Epidemic from the player deck isn't during the Infection stage, so your "intensify" card-from-the-bottom pull shouldn't be affected by Rate Change either. Right?

That doesn't happen during the "playing the infector" phase (when the infection rate is in play), but during the "draw two cards" phase, so you're correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Your tentative rulings are both correct.

The Mutation! card itself is considered "an infection card draw" (see page 8, OTB rules, first bullet point); the card drawn to *resolve* the Mutation! card is not itself "an infection card draw" and, in particular, results in only a purple cube being placed in that city (so it would be rather strange if the "non-placement" of a Virulent Disease cube actually triggered the Rate Effect)!

(Similarly, the infect city card drawn to resolve an Epidemic is not considered "an infection card draw" for Rate effect.)

The Troubleshooter, when Rate Effect is active, does not peek at an additional card upon seeing an infection card of the Virulent disease.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.