Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Defenders of the Realm: Hero Expansion #3» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on Thief's Scouting Ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob Marso
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb


Let's say the Thief is adjacent to 2 locations with 3 minions each and one location with a general. Understand she may scout up to 3 locations drawing 3 cards a piece and subject to 1 wound for each location that matches the color she is on.

Questions: Can she decide to scout 1 or 2 locations instead of all 3? If so, when does she need to make this decision? Before drawing the scouting cards or can she decide as she draws them. Does the ability work like:

A) She must decide whether to scout the 3 locations she is eligible to or none.

B) She may scout less then the 3 locations but must decide before scouting.

C) She can decide after each card is received whether to continue to scout. So for example if she receives a wound after her first scout, she may stop.

Bob
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Launius
United States
Johns Creek
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Bob - Good question and not one that surfaced in play testing as the players always seemed to take the maximum cards without concern. I think it should work as following:

Example: The Thief is adjacent to 2 locations with 3 minions each and one location with a General. Which resolution of the skill is correct?

A) She must decide whether to scout the 3 locations she is eligible to or none.

B) She may scout less then the 3 locations but must decide before scouting.

C) She can decide after each card is received whether to continue to scout. So for example if she receives a wound after her first scout, she may stop.

The answer is C: The player can decide after each Card is revealed to Scout or not Scout another location until all are revealed.

As usual, I prefer to give the player the benefit of controlling a skill like this, that while is always good in that they get extra cards, there is still an opportunity for negative impact. I suspect most people will take all available cards in most situations.

Thanks - Richard
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.