Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Army Group Centre Gambit rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David G. Cox Esq.
Australia
Lighthouse Beach
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Do what you can, with what you've got, where you are.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have to admit that I don't understand.

Page 14 of the Scenario Booklet talks about the AGC-Gambit.

To quote, "I'll show you an interesting twist to this, if the Axis player feels bold, and has cards to spare...During the Soviet Turn 1 the Axis will put two counterblow counters on both stacks adjacent to the surrounded unit. Since odds will be lower than 1-3, it will be an automatic CA (at odds of 6-1)...make sure, before doing this, that you still have three cards and one blitz marker left in your hand. This combination the Soviets will not be able to defeat!"

I have several questions regarding this suggested strategy:

1. what if the Soviet unit attacks one of the two German stacks before the German player places the counterblow markers? That will allow the Soviets to have a 1-3 attack and a chance of escaping the trap.

2. Where in the rules does it mention attacks at less than 1-3?

3. How does the Blitz marker and three cards ensure that this ploy is unbeatable?



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M Evan Brooks
United States
Gainesville
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
da pyrate wrote:
1. what if the Soviet unit attacks one of the two German stacks before the German player places the counterblow markers? That will allow the Soviets to have a 1-3 attack and a chance of escaping the trap.

2. Where in the rules does it mention attacks at less than 1-3?

3. How does the Blitz marker and three cards ensure that this ploy is unbeatable?





Answers to 1-2:

1. The counterblow markers are placed during the German turn;

2. Page 11 [10.6.4] "When the ratio is less than 1:3, ... becomes an automatic CA result"

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David G. Cox Esq.
Australia
Lighthouse Beach
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Do what you can, with what you've got, where you are.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
evanbrooks wrote:
1. The counterblow markers are placed during the German turn;



I thought that counterblow markers were placed by the Non-phasing player (10.1.2 page 10) and so the German player should place the counters during the Soviet turn after the Soviet player has placed markers for his/her voluntary attacks.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Delta 5.56
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
da pyrate wrote:
evanbrooks wrote:
1. The counterblow markers are placed during the German turn;



I thought that counterblow markers were placed by the Non-phasing player (10.1.2 page 10) and so the German player should place the counters during the Soviet turn after the Soviet player has placed markers for his/her voluntary attacks.



Thats the way I understand it also.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
da pyrate wrote:
1. what if the Soviet unit attacks one of the two German stacks before the German player places the counterblow markers? That will allow the Soviets to have a 1-3 attack and a chance of escaping the trap.

The German player can still place counterblow markers on other German stacks (without a target marker) and the Russian unit will have to attack all of them (unless other Russian units move up to assist).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David G. Cox Esq.
Australia
Lighthouse Beach
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Do what you can, with what you've got, where you are.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sdiberar wrote:
da pyrate wrote:
1. what if the Soviet unit attacks one of the two German stacks before the German player places the counterblow markers? That will allow the Soviets to have a 1-3 attack and a chance of escaping the trap.

The German player can still place counterblow markers on other German stacks (without a target marker) and the Russian unit will have to attack all of them (unless other Russian units move up to assist).


Beautiful!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bradley Fletcher
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
Doesn't placing a counterblow marker require playing a card--and the Russians have no cards in the German half of the first turn. That's how I understood it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bfletcher wrote:
Doesn't placing a counterblow marker require playing a card--and the Russians have no cards in the German half of the first turn. That's how I understood it.


Yes indeed. Was was discussed here is the placing of Counterblows by the Germans. On turn 1 the German player will most probably have more cards than he can use anyway, since he starts his turn with 6 cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David G. Cox Esq.
Australia
Lighthouse Beach
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Do what you can, with what you've got, where you are.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
licinius wrote:
bfletcher wrote:
Doesn't placing a counterblow marker require playing a card--and the Russians have no cards in the German half of the first turn. That's how I understood it.


Yes indeed. Was was discussed here is the placing of Counterblows by the Germans. On turn 1 the German player will most probably have more cards than he can use anyway, since he starts his turn with 6 cards.


What's the story with the third question about the comment about a blitz counter and three cards making the ploy foolproof.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
da pyrate wrote:
What's the story with the third question about the comment about a blitz counter and three cards making the ploy foolproof.


Hey, that's a spoiler!

It's just in case the Soviet start doing crazy things like having a recently-destroyed unit appear in Minsk, and moving it next to the "Surrounded" unit to give it a retreat route and supply path (there is many possibilities here for devious strategies). He could also use a card to cancel some Counterblows (there is a few)

But then if I'm playing the Germans I am not all unhappy that my opponent tries to do this: he could end up having two or three units "Out of Supply" next turn! Albeit this will slow down my advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Davidson

Livonia
Michigan
msg tools
Kirk "The Man" Douglas (Vikings)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Blitz counter can be used by the German player during the Russian player turn if a Counter Attack is a result (the German Player becomes the attacker, if he chooses to attack, during the Russian player turn and can advance after combat etc.). The 3 Card hand, like Carl mentioned, allows you an extra card if the Russian were to play a card that cancels a card just played. So if you play a card as the German player to place a Counter blow marker and the Russian plays a card and cancels it, as the German you still have more cards left and could play another on the same spot to place a Counter blow marker. This could go on until there are no cards left to play or someone decides it's not worth a card play and keeps the cards in hand for next turn.

Cheers
Kevin
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
da pyrate wrote:
sdiberar wrote:
da pyrate wrote:
1. what if the Soviet unit attacks one of the two German stacks before the German player places the counterblow markers? That will allow the Soviets to have a 1-3 attack and a chance of escaping the trap.

The German player can still place counterblow markers on other German stacks (without a target marker) and the Russian unit will have to attack all of them (unless other Russian units move up to assist).

Beautiful!!!

I learned at the feet of the designer. Boy, was I surprised!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.