Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Lemon
United States
Redmond
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I'm planning to make a copy of RoboDerby Express, using Malechi's fantastic-looking graphic design.

I have a box of letter-sized laser labels, and I have a bunch of also-letter-sized magazine backing boards. I have had great success in the past printing to the laser labels and then mounting them to the backing boards to make nice stiff cardboard parts.

However, I have never tried making something double-sided before, mainly because I can't figure out if there's a good way to mount the full-page label to the full-page board exactly enough to be confident they will be lined up when I apply the paper trimmer to them to cut it all up.

So I'm wondering if anyone here has any experience with this, and can provide some advice or techniques. Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TS S. Fulk
Sweden
Örebro
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I would cut the bits with 1 side out first. Then cut out each "sticker" from the full page.

You need to make sure that there is an edge to start with (i.e., don't just start cutting out the things, or it'll be really hard to take the backing paper off). I usually cut them in strips, then start with the top most bit. Pull down the backing paper until it reaches the next bit and cut out the first bit completely. If they have funny shapes, it's a pain. It is also a pain to put them on the other thing correctly too. But it works with patience.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Meeks
United States
Bellevue
Nebraska
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb