Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Ascension: Return of the Fallen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hierarchy of Effects rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Leath
United States
Newark
OH
flag msg tools
badge
This too shall pass...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mike Rosenfloggen, R&D intern for Gary Games has just posted the following comment on the main site. It helps address the hierarchy of effects when multiple abilities happen.

Quote:
We'll be addressing a lot of these questions in an article in the near future. It has been a very busy month for Gary Games as it's convention season, and we're also hard at work getting the next expansion ready, so we apologize for the delays in communication with everyone.

Hang tight. Official clarifications on things like Timing are on their way!

However, to address your specific questions:

If you were to defeat a Mephit while you have Void Mesmer's effect:
-You defeat the Monster and move it to the Void, and replace it with a card from the Center Deck.
-You then resolve Mephit's reward. Gain honor for defeating the Monster, then you may choose to banish a card in the Center Row.
-Next, you resolve Void Mesmer. You may choose to acquire a Hero of equal or lesser cost than the power it took to defeat Mephit.

Based on this, it's similar for your question involving Guardian of Sadranis and Sordid Asp. You resolve Monster rewards before you resolve any effects that trigger on acquiring/defeating a card in the Center Row. Therefore, you get to steal honor with Sordid Asp and then gain bonus honor for Guardian or Sadranis.

Hope this helps!



taking this into account, I believe the hierarchy to be

A. Replace card in center row
B. Gain Honor from Monster
C. Resolve Monster effect
D. Resolve bonus effects of Cards in the order they were played.

not that it has any adverse repercussions (so far), but I would also assume that effects from constructs that trigger upon defeating a monster happen BEFORE the Hero effects resolve as well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James 3
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
the hierarchy of the stack helps, but a question i still have is:

Mephit is killed
card with fate replaces Mephit in center row.
per the FAQ, resolve monster reward before fate effect. lets assume the player chooses to banish the new FATE card that replaced mephit as the reward for killing mephit...question: does the fate effect NOT happen since its banished before fate effects happen? or does the game remember and trigger the fate effect anyway (and any new fate effect that might pop in afterwards too...)?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Kozlik
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
I think this situation will resolve this way:

Mephit is killed and is replaced with some Fate card, than you select to banish the newly came Fate card. But its condition was already met - the card have already entered the central row, although the fate card was banished (Card must be placed to center row so it can be banished from it - the moment fate card enter the central row will trigger the fate effect). So i think the Fate effect must still be followed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Leath
United States
Newark
OH
flag msg tools
badge
This too shall pass...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Per the latest timing post on the main site:

Quote:
the order in how effects resolve when you acquire or defeat something in the Center Row.

1.) The Center Row card is acquired and goes to your discard pile, or is defeated and put in the void.
2.) Replace cards in the Center Row until there are 6 cards in the center row from the center deck moving outward.
3.) Resolve Monster rewards.
4.) Resolve anything that triggered off of defeating or acquiring the card/cards in the Center Row (such as Voidthirster).
5.) Resolve any Fate triggers in the order they appeared in the center row.



Which would mean that Mephit is defeated and put in the Void (#1), he is replaced in the center row (#2), you gain the requisite honor (#3), banish a card via Mephit's effect (#4), and then resolve the Fate trigger of the card that flipped into the center row (#5).



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.