Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Egizia» Forums » Rules

Subject: Feed construction crew - help with the penalty rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fabricio Bandeira
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I read the rules, I read the FAQ, I read the posts, but I still want to be perfectly clear on this, so I'll use an example to support my query:

1. My four construction crews have the following strength: 3, 3, 4 and 5 (thus, a total of 15).

2. During the feeding phase, my watered fields total 11.

3. My marker stone on the grain market indicates that I lose 3 points per unfed worker (as a side comment, my confusion arises from the use of the words "grain", "crew" and "workers" in the various sources of the rules).

So, in the example above, the correct penalty is:

(A) 12 points (3 points multiplied by the 4 missing grains);

(B) 3 points (with 11 grain I can feed the 3, 3 and 4 crews, but not the remaining 5 crew, so I lose 3 points multiplied by 1 crew);

(C) I lose 15 points (with 12 grain I can feed the 3, 3 and 4 crews, but not the remaining 5 crew, so I lose 3 points multiplied by 5 workers).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathue Faulkner
United States
Austin
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I may be wrong, but I've always played with (A).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Sutherland
United Kingdom
(just) West of London
Middlesex
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another vote for (A)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wesley Kinslow
United States
Piperton
Tennessee
flag msg tools
↳ Do one brain damage ↳ Do one brain damage ↳ End the run
badge
Real heroes wear pink.
Avatar
mb
I know that the Yucata.de client would rule (A) as well... as does my own interpretation of things.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Jackson
United Kingdom
Bath
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I also think (A)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Kundlak
Slovakia
Bratislava
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
(A) is correct - missing food (4) multiplied by the current "multiplicator" on the Grain Market (3)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martyn Skillern
United Kingdom
Worcester
flag msg tools
Avatar
A here as well well that's how we always play it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonio Izzo
Italy
Bologna
BO
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is easy: 4 * 3 = 12. (A)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabricio Bandeira
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So "A" it is. The poor "B" and "C" got nothing.

Thank you all for your prompt response.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A is absolutely correct, page 5 of the rules very specifically answer the question.

Quote:
The 4 construction crews have strengths of 3, 3, 4, 4, for a total of 14.

They (2 grain fields) feed construction crews up to a total strength of 12, thus he is missing 2 grain.

The green marker stone on the grain market indicates that green must
lose 2 points for each grain he is short for feeding his crews.

Thus, green loses 4 points
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabricio Bandeira
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:
A is absolutely correct, page 5 of the rules very specifically answer the question.


Yes, it does. The point is, the FAQ also addresses the questions and poses a slightly different answer. Thus, my confusion. But, as you all agree, "A" it is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.