Popular Tags: [View All]
15 Keys
United States
Living in the Delco
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,
I'm a relative newb (I've started in board games in the past couple years and only got a BGG account this year), so forgive me if this is something that has already been discussed to death. But I have a problem.

My FLGS (there are actually a couple, but this is the one I go to) is a nice place, it is clean, it is relatively friendly, and it has a couple board game nights every week that I like to go to when I can. They have store copies of games you can play in their room with tables, it is bright, well lit, doesn't smell funny, and people show up with other games. It is overall a lot of fun.

And I want to support them because they are somewhat new and I feel like I get a lot from them through the board game nights. BUT....all of their prices are MSRP or above (I am in the US) and I have a hard time bringing myself to spend that much. I couldn't bring myself to what amounts to overspending on a game that I can get for 50-80% of that price online.

This is a moot point, however, because right now I am too poor to buy anything new, but it still is a mental wrestle between supporting a local business that caters to your niche market versus getting more games for what your money (5 games a year instead of 3).

I know there isn't "one correct answer", but I was wondering how other people dealt with this situation.

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Debien
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb