Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Agricola» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ambiguity with The Scholar rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Forked Lightning
United States
California
flag msg tools
The text on the scholar says:

Once you have a stone house, at the start of a round
you can always either pay 1 food to play an occupation
card or play an improvement card by paying
its costs.

I believe that the card means that you have to pay a food whether you play the occupation or the improvement. My friend believes that the food is only played for the occupation. What is the opinion of the community?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Silver
United States
Lino Lakes
Minnesota
flag msg tools
C'mon You Loons!
badge
United FC! -----------The Team for Me! ---- Minnesota! ----------- L-O-V-E! -------------
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 food for the occ. The improvement is paid for by it's requirements.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Dilloo
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
Everything is relative to perception, and your perception is limited.
badge
The Ginger Ninja
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
By no means official, but usually "or" is a pretty big logic gap in sentence structure, meaning those are two very distinct items. Either pay the food for the occupation//(or)//play an improvement by paying its costs. If it meant that you also pay food, with the improvement, it would say so, IMHO.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fraser
Australia
Melbourne
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Back in the days when there were less maps we played every map back to back
badge
Ooh a little higher, now a bit to the left, a little more, a little more, just a bit more. Oooh yes, that's the spot!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What Tim said - except change it's to its devil
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris F.
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
FYI, the newest German edition of Agricola limits the Scholar's ability to minor improvements.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike T
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
Yeah, apparently there was a real ambiguity with the current edition that we English speakers missed: it says "play an improvement card," and apparently you normally "build" or "acquire" Majors, and "play" minors. There is some inconsistency in this in the English version, since Businessman and Traveling Salesman both use "play" for majors, but there it is.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derakon Derakon
msg tools
The inclusion of the "either" is key to determining what you have to pay food for. Compare:

"...you can always either pay 1 food to play an occupation card or play an improvement card by paying its costs."

vs.

"...you can always pay 1 food to play an occupation card or play an improvement card by paying its costs."

The former creates the "either/or" sentence construct, in which the "or" separates everything from the "either" to the "or" from everything after the "or". Thus the "pay 1 food" is only applied to "play an occupation". In the latter, there's no such construct, so there is ambiguity as to what "pay 1 food" applies to.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Shields
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cjfoster wrote:
FYI, the newest German edition of Agricola limits the Scholar's ability to minor improvements.


That seems an unnecessary change....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Burkman
United States
Kettering
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Peekaboo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TwitchBot wrote:
cjfoster wrote:
FYI, the newest German edition of Agricola limits the Scholar's ability to minor improvements.


That seems an unnecessary change....


Given that the Scholar is ineffective until the player has a stone hut, I agree.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike T
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
I agree in terms of balance, and don't like the change, but supposedly it's really a clarification, and the Scholar was never intended to build Majors.

Of course, you haven't played enough Agricola if you haven't seen at least a couple of games in which the Scholar dominates.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Rudd
England
Bideford
Devon
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
smcmike wrote:
Of course, you haven't played enough Agricola if you haven't seen at least a couple of games in which the Scholar dominates.


I've thought of a plausible way this can happen. Player renovates to stone very early, plonks down Scholar, and then when he's got four Occupations in play, puts down Quarry - hello, easily-built stone house.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike T
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
JackRudd wrote:
smcmike wrote:
Of course, you haven't played enough Agricola if you haven't seen at least a couple of games in which the Scholar dominates.


I've thought of a plausible way this can happen. Player renovates to stone very early, plonks down Scholar, and then when he's got four Occupations in play, puts down Quarry - hello, easily-built stone house.


Or: Player plops down early 3rd room (or Farm Steward or Lover) and quickly Renovates to stone. Scholar plays Manservant and/or Plow Driver and/or Groom/Fence Overseer. Automatic Farming commences. 4th Family member unnecessary (if you have all of the above, 3rd family member may be unnecessary).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.