Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Stone
England
Wokingham
Berkshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, I'm completely new to Go but fascinated by it. I've been reading a couple of Go books and various websites and I thought i was getting a handle on things...until I played my first game against the computer. This is the end of game state,

The final score was White 24.5 (19 territory, no captures, 5.5 komi), Black 1 (0 territory, 1 capture).

I understand the concept of making two 'eyes' to ensure a group of stones live so can someone please explain to me how the White group in the top left is alive? It looks to me that they have no way of living, Black can kill them off easily, so what am I missing?

I was White by the way, I passed at this point to see what would happen and Black did the same. I haven't got my head around when to end the game yet so there may be more stones I could've played.

Thanks for your help.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The upper left is dead. The computer might incorrectly think the entire black group is dead. With a few extra white stones, it could be dead, but it's not in this situation.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Stone
England
Wokingham
Berkshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow...thanks for the quick reply! It's good to know my thinking was correct.

I shall be wary of the computer from now on.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro Silva
Portugal
Matosinhos
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If black plays on C5, he's group lives by making two eyes on E6 and D5, thus killing the top left group (and also the one on the left at B5).

If, on the other hand, it was white to play on C5 (instead of passing), then the black group would need to fight some more to try and make another eye on the left by killing that white group.

It really is a fascinating game, isn't it?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Leach