Mr. D
United States
Oneonta
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
When Forest Grove is explored and leaves play, you can search the Encounter Deck/Discard for an Athelas and add it to the staging area. Athelas has the guarded trait.

Since the Athelas has not been revealed during the staging step (or in setup), do you still put a "guard" on it?

Thematically, it seems no. Why would exploring thru a Forest Grove searching for an herb end up sending me to the Mountains of Mirkwood to retrieve said herb? But there are certainly thematic...oddities...in the game.

thanks,
-TR
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benedetto Loffredo
Italy
Portici (NA)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tubarush wrote:
When Forest Grove is explored and leaves play, you can search the Encounter Deck/Discard for an Athelas and add it to the staging area. Athelas has the guarded trait.

Since the Athelas has not been revealed during the staging step (or in setup), do you still put a "guard" on it?

Thematically, it seems no. Why would exploring thru a Forest Grove searching for an herb end up sending me to the Mountains of Mirkwood to retrieve said herb? But there are certainly thematic...oddities...in the game.


Copying from the Official FAQ:

(1.01) Encounter Keywords
Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be resolved any time the card on which they occur enters play, including during setup.

IMHO yes, Athelas will have a "guard" on it.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Simpson
United States
South Bend
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played that it was guarded too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus
Finland
flag msg tools
mb
Sportacus wrote:


Copying from the Official FAQ:

(1.01) Encounter Keywords
Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be resolved any time the card on which they occur enters play, including during setup.

IMHO yes, Athelas will have a "guard" on it.


An additional question related to this:

Forest Grove lets you to search for an Athelas card in the encounter deck and the discard pile. However, the guarded keyword says in the rulebook:

"...reveal and attach the next card of the encounter deck to the objective when it enters the staging area from the encounter deck..."

So if you choose to take the Athelas from the discard pile and not the encounter deck, do you attach an encounter card to it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Ramundi
Canada
Cornwall
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Markus_N wrote:
Sportacus wrote:


Copying from the Official FAQ:

(1.01) Encounter Keywords
Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be resolved any time the card on which they occur enters play, including during setup.

IMHO yes, Athelas will have a "guard" on it.


An additional question related to this:

Forest Grove lets you to search for an Athelas card in the encounter deck and the discard pile. However, the guarded keyword says in the rulebook:

"...reveal and attach the next card of the encounter deck to the objective when it enters the staging area from the encounter deck..."

So if you choose to take the Athelas from the discard pile and not the encounter deck, do you attach an encounter card to it?
It would seem so. Not sure what the FAQ has to say about this, if anything; I haven't read it in a while.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Smith
United Kingdom
Pimlico
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say the discard pile is part of the encounter deck, so this card's guarded effect will always resolve when put into play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ien C.
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems like there's been a change on this point.

The current FAQ says: "(1.01) Encounter Keywords, Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be resolved any time the card on which they occur is revealed from the encounter deck, including during setup." (with the bolded text in red to indicate a new ruling)

This is different from the former FAQ (quoted above): "(1.01) Encounter Keywords. Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be resolved any time the card on which they occur enters play, including during setup." (my emphasis added)

It seems to me clear that the explicit change from "enters play" to "is revealed from the encounter deck" means you do NOT resolve the guarded keyword when recovering Athelas from the discard pile. (Note, it also seems clear that the discard pile is different from, as opposed to being part of, the encounter deck, given the two are talked about distinctly on the Forest Grove card and in the FAQ.)

Thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie
United States
Belmont
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
curious, since time has passed:

If athelas is found in the encounter deck - guard it w/ a new revealed card?

And if it is found in the discard pile - do not guard it?

thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
alogos teeheehee
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
THe
Quote:
This is different from the former FAQ (quoted above): "(1.01) Encounter Keywords. Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be resolved any time the card on which they occur enters play, including during setup." (my emphasis added)

Is refering to the particular case of setup.
They are all keywords that resolved if they are revealed.

So if it come from the discard pile or whereever, you should guard it, if and only if, the card is revealed.

Case where it is not revealed and just added to the staging area unguarded are : Forest Grove.

It's in this, somewhere...
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1056508/unofficial-faq-compi...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris B
msg tools
Trying to revive this question. Anyone willing to chime in, please do so here:

http://boardgames.stackexchange.com/q/29525/15668
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hitbaz 47
Brazil
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Official FAQ 1.8:

Q: Does the Guarded keyword trigger when the encounter card it’s on is “added” to the staging area (and not “revealed”)?

A: No. In order for the Guarded keyword to trigger, the encounter card it appears on must be “revealed” from the encounter deck.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.