Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Removing Artillery Spotter rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bertrand Guillou-Keredan
France
Nantes
flag msg tools
La Fayette nous voilà !
badge
English is not my first language
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mission 1 : 2 FM for the Ennemy Art Spotter.

Turn 1 : Initial Fire happen Automatically.
Turn 2 : Ennemy Activity Check Segment :
I draw "one burst" and the Spotter have expended all of his available mission.
Question 1 :
When the spotter is removed from play ? : immediately ? or at the Clean Up Phase because it run out of ammo ?).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Oddo
United States
New Windsor
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My understanding is during the clean up phase.

Combat happens simultaneously. There is a chance you can take him out before he leaves the map.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hobbs
United States
Dublin
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules are not really clear on the when:
9.8 wrote:
Remove Good Order spotters from play when they have expended all their available fire missions.

I could see an argument for removing them immediately, or during the "Mutual Capture and Retreat Phase", or during Clean-Up.

This could be fixed easily by replacing the quoted sentence as follows: "Remove Good Order spotters during the XXXXX phase on the turn in which they have expended all their available fire missions." What XXXXX is becomes a question for Ben.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger Grossman
msg tools
Right, Chris.

I would suggest cross-posting this on CSW, attention: Ricky. I think he's handling revisions/clarifications to the rulebook. He may see it here, but he seems to be more active on CSW. I just posted a few clarification suggestions there myself.

Looking forward to watching part 5!

Cheers,

RG
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bertrand Guillou-Keredan
France
Nantes
flag msg tools
La Fayette nous voilà !
badge
English is not my first language
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My understanting is also during the clean up phase.

Another question :
9.8 say : "Like the sniper, Enemy spotters are not governed by the Enemy Activity Hierarchy but their own rules in this section".

I'm a little confused. It means i have to proceed with the 9.6 rule (Snipers) ?

thx.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hobbs
United States
Dublin
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BertGK wrote:
I'm a little confused. It means i have to proceed with the 9.6 rule (Snipers) ?

No, it just means that you don't use the Enemy Activity Hierarchy chart for a good order spotter, just as you don't for a good order sniper. If a spotter (or sniper) is pinned or reduced to a LAT, you would then use the Enemy LAT Activity Hierarchy to determine their behavior.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hobbs
United States
Dublin
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
moosepuppy wrote:
I would suggest cross-posting this on CSW, attention: Ricky.

Posted, I'll report back here with an answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Quintero
United States
Unspecified
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
There was a reply to this question on ConsimWorld, post # 2859 ( Not sure how to link to it here) The answer was "after his final fire mission is resolved"

Following that, I remove them during the clean up phase figuring he sticks around to see the shells land then hightails it out.

Eric
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quin wrote:
post # 2859 ( Not sure how to link to it here)

http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@832.uopwcLSIIQv.4916910@...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hobbs
United States
Dublin
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bertrand Guillou-Keredan
France
Nantes
flag msg tools
La Fayette nous voilà !
badge
English is not my first language
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok thx

What about the Incoming marker ? Is it removed at the Clean Up Phase or on the next turn (Mutual Combat Phase/VOF Segement/Update Fire Missions) ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bertrand Guillou-Keredan
France
Nantes
flag msg tools
La Fayette nous voilà !
badge
English is not my first language
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok I found a response (2009 post)

Preacher wrote:
Awesome response, Steve. But one thing ...

Quote:
Get to the cleanup phase. Take off the incoming VOF, that's the end of that arty shot.


That's not correct. Incoming! VOFs are not removed until the next VOF Segment of the Mutual Combat Phase, right before pending missions are flipped to their incoming sides. So, even if your FO 'misses' next time, that VOF stays until the beginning of the VOF segment.

Great response, though!

Ricky


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.