Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

For the People» Forums » Rules

Subject: Interceptions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joaquim Dorca
Spain
Barcelona
Catalunya
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi there!

I have a question (doubt?)

Let's say Beauregard is at Manassas with 4 SP, and Joe Johnston at Strasbourg with 2 SP.

The army of the Potomac attacks Manassas... Does the confederate player have the oppotunity to "intercept" the Army of the Potomac at Manassas with Joe Johnston (stacking with)?

Second question...

Same deployment.

The federal attacks Johnston (2 SP at Strasbourg VA). The confederate has a force of 4 SP and Beauregard at Manassas...

Can the confederate first try to retire Johnston to Manassas and then (if succesful) stack with Beauregard and try to intercept the yankee at Strasbourg with 6 SP?

I'm just wondering
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias Kriener
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1st question: yes

2nd question: no - the same force can not intercept & retreat before battle or vice versa in the same move.
he could intercept with Beauregard into Strasbourg, though, which would have the same effect: 6 SP in the battle at Strasbourg.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joaquim Dorca
Spain
Barcelona
Catalunya
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Tobias!

But... I have doubts about the second issue because of this rule:

5.82 ONE ATTEMPT PER MOVE: A player may only make
one interception attempt per enemy move. Once a player has
attempted an interception he may not make any further interception
attempts during that enemy move. During a Campaign card
event a player gets one interception attempt per enemy move
(two on a Minor and three on a Major campaign). A player that
has lost a battle does not lose his once per enemy move interception
ability and can still attempt interception during the enemy’s
post battle movement (assuming the enemy force moves after
winning a battle). A player may still attempt interception after
one or more successful retreats before battle
. A force that has
retreated before battle can intercept the same force that it previously
retreated before battle from.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Savalls wrote:
Hi Tobias!

But... I have doubts about the second issue because of this rule:

5.82 ONE ATTEMPT PER MOVE: A player may only make
one interception attempt per enemy move. Once a player has
attempted an interception he may not make any further interception
attempts during that enemy move. During a Campaign card
event a player gets one interception attempt per enemy move
(two on a Minor and three on a Major campaign). A player that
has lost a battle does not lose his once per enemy move interception
ability and can still attempt interception during the enemy’s
post battle movement (assuming the enemy force moves after
winning a battle). A player may still attempt interception after
one or more successful retreats before battle
. A force that has
retreated before battle can intercept the same force that it previously
retreated before battle from.


That language is there to allow you to intercept the enemy after a series of retreats. For example (the most common), if the enemy army tries to march AROUND you into spaces where you could intercept - you may choose to attempt an intercept.

Tobias is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joaquim Dorca
Spain
Barcelona
Catalunya
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok...

So the rules should say that a player cannot react twice in the same segment (or impulse?) of movement of the enemy force.

That's the spirit of the rule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right. Each space an opposing force moves into will allow you either intercept OR retreat but not both in the same single-space movement.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Chamberlain
United States
Little Rock
Arkansas
flag msg tools
However the 2 separate forces could each try something diffrent?

You could try to intercept into the space with beauregard, and if that failed attempt to retreat with Johnson out of the way?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi - Tony. That's a different question, and I don't know the answer to that one. I have always played it that you have to decide to do one or the other - retreat with your force or try to intercept with a force. I am not sure of the "official" answer to that question, though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Cruces
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Interceptions (rule 5.82)
I am in a game where Van Dorn marched past two places I could intercept. I attempted first intercept and failed. Van Dorn went four more spaces and I, using a different force, attempted another intercept and I was successful. Was the second intercept attempt a violation of Rule 5.82? Thanks for any help
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Gautier

Rhinebeck
New York
msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
cruces wrote:
Was the second intercept attempt a violation of Rule 5.82?

Yes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.