Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: PDS, Invasion Combat, and no GF present rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Remy Gibson
United States
flag msg tools
http://boardgametop10s.com/audio/bg10.xml
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the base rules, page 17, paragraph 4:

"After the active player has landed one or more
Ground Force units during the Planetary Landings
step of a Tactical Action, an Invasion Combat must be
fought if the destination planet holds any enemy
Ground Force units."


The rules state that Invasion Combat occurs when the planet "holds any enemy Ground Force units." (We'll ignore Mechanized Units for this discussion.) Note that it makes no reference to PDS. It could have simply said "any enemy units", but it doesn't. Conclusion: Invasion Combat only occurs when Ground Forces belonging to two players are present on the same planet.



From the base rules, page 29, column 2, paragraph 1:

"Immediately before the first round of an Invasion
Combat, any defending PDS units on a planet may
fire, once per PDS, at the invading Ground Forces.
This is a one-time pre-combat shot only and does not
occur before every other round of the subsequent
Invasion Combat."


Note that the PDS units do not fire upon Planetary Landing. Rather they fire "before the first round of an Invasion Combat." The preceding rules quote stated that Invasion Combat only occurs if Ground Forces from both sides are present. Conclusion: A PDS on a planet with no friendly Ground Forces does not fire.


Now, I've never played this way. This strikes me as rules-lawyering run rampant. But is it wrong?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This has come up before, and I'm almost 100% sure that Corey responded that PDS do fire in this situation, even when on an "undefended" planet.

Unfortunately, I think the thread talking about this was on ti3wiki.org.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hector Flores
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sigmazero13 wrote:
This has come up before, and I'm almost 100% sure that Corey responded that PDS do fire in this situation, even when on an "undefended" planet.

Unfortunately, I think the thread talking about this was on ti3wiki.org.


Agreeing with Scott on this. At least, that's how we play it.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.