Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Lott
United States
Cheverly
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I was discussing with a few of my geekbuddies about the relative merits of Oregon, and whether there was much strategy involved. I maintain that there is, despite the randomness of the card draw. So I promised to write up a guide, and here it is.

Quick disclaimer: I by no means would consider myself an expert on this game. But I have played it over a hundred times either at the table or on Yucata.de, so I have some experience to back up my opinions. This isn’t meant to be an exhaustive guide – if anything, I hope it will spark more discussion. Lastly, I’m writing this with the assumption that you already know how to play. If not, review the rules and try it a couple times before reading any further.

Strategy Tip #1: Work those bonus tiles.

The basics of Oregon involve placing your farmers with a combination of landscape tiles, or placing buildings with a single landscape tile. That alone will not win you the game. You must make sure to use your bonus tiles (the Joker and the Extra Turn) as often as possible to maximize your points. And the way to make that happen is to keep the possibility for recovering them open through the Train Station or the Warehouse.

As an example, if I haven’t used my Extra Turn tile and I see there is a way I can place a farmer adjacent to a Train Station, then what I should first do is place a farmer somewhere else that will give me the most points I can get. Then I use my Extra Turn to place a second farmer next to the Train Station (preferably in a way to pick up another point or two) and thus immediately reclaim my bonus tile. Similarly, if never hurts to use your Joker when you know that your farmer placement will be adjacent to a Warehouse, so you get the tile right back.