Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Carcassonne» Forums » Rules

Subject: can you leave a hole rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jood shine
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
since we got carc a few years ago we have played that you cant leave a hole in the tile laying..then we got hunters and gatherers last week and i noticed that it didnt say you couldnt leave a gap - then i looked at carc rules again and nowhere can i find this rule..makes it a lot easier

so am i righ you can leave holes ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
“It's all in the mind.” ― George Harrison
badge
Devoted Follower of the Most Holy Church of the Evil Bob. Possessed and down the road to become chaotic, evil & naughty. All hail the Evil Bob and his Stargate.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, holes are ok meeple

One of the expansion sets (can't remember which one) even gave special tiles to the players that fit into the holes.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duncan
New Zealand
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PzVIE wrote:
Yes, holes are ok meeple

One of the expansion sets (can't remember which one) even gave special tiles to the players that fit into the holes.


It's Carcassonne: Expansion 5 – Abbey & Mayor the abbey tiles act as wildcards that can be placed anywhere all 4 edges are in contact with another
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Clague
New Zealand
Hamilton
Waikato
flag msg tools
badge
I can see my house from here!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been confused with this in the past too - sure I'd read it somewhere. Maybe it is that in Alhambra you can't leave a hole...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keng Leong Yeo
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
aka Uncle
badge
小富靠勤,中富靠智,大富靠德。
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
superbgg wrote:
I've been confused with this in the past too - sure I'd read it somewhere. Maybe it is that in Alhambra you can't leave a hole...

Yes, you are right, Jason. It is in Alhambra that you cannot have a hole.

I especially remember the bit about Alhambra because of two pictures I took (see below). I was fiddling around with all the Alhambra tiles and wondered if it was possible to use up all the building tiles.

My first attempt drew a comment that I left a hole which was illegal:

I followed that up with a legal effort soon after:


Anyway, it is ok to leave a hole for Carcassonne.

And between Carcassonne and Alhambra, my preferred game is Carcassonne.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sven Teuber
Germany
Langenfeld
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
superbgg wrote:
I've been confused with this in the past too - sure I'd read it somewhere. Maybe it is that in Alhambra you can't leave a hole...


I mixed them up, too, when reading the subject of this thread.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jood shine
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks for clarification..i bet we got confused with alalhambra too.
it makes carc much easier with holes! grin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.