Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Space Empires: 4X» Forums » Rules

Subject: MS Pipelines and Black Holes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ted Duby
United States
Honolulu
Hawaii
flag msg tools
badge
If you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. (Romans 10:9)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Was just wondering, to benefit from the MS Pipeline for Black Holes and Asteroids/Nebulas, does the ship moving through the Black Hole hex have to start and end movement on an MS Pipeline, or just move through the Black Hole hex containing an MS Pipeline (i.e., could it start its movement in an empty hex)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garry Rice
United States
Perkasie
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would think it would have to start and stay on the MS pipelines - to use their benefit anywhere else, you need to do the same...but I'll be curious to see what Jim says...

Thematically, you could argue that a ship not using the MS Pipeline to start is using an uncharted path...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guido Gloor
Switzerland
Ostermundigen
Bern
flag msg tools
The statement below is false.
badge
The statement above is correct.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree. The rule right next to the black hole one concerning Asteroids and Nebulas is quite explicit; you do have to use the pipeline for not having a movement penalty from them - it'd make most sense to me to require that for Black Holes, too.

Luckily, we won't have to speculate for long I'm sure
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gary and Guido are indeed correct.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob
United States
Apollo Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
So to safely enter a black hole that an MS Pipeline has "secured" requires 2 MS Pipelines then? One in the Black hole and one adjacent?

Or were we just talking moving through the black hole (without stopping) and going past it, like with Nebulas/Asteroids?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it would require 2. The ship has to be moving along a pipeline. I have already added a sticky to the rule book to clarify it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jim Krohn wrote:
Yes, it would require 2. The ship has to be moving along a pipeline. I have already added a sticky to the rule book to clarify it.


It seems clear enough to me. You use the pipeline for movement if all your movement is on the pipeline. I'm not aure why people would expect it to be different for Black Holes, Asteroids and Nebulas.

Don't make the rules and more wordy than they need to be. 99% of the rules are perfectly clear and understandable.

BOb
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bob, I see your point of view and I, in general, agree with it. In fact, sometimes adding words will make a rule book less clear. However, in this case, by adding about three words I can remove a potential misunderstanding. I think that is a win.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jim Krohn wrote:
Bob, I see your point of view and I, in general, agree with it. In fact, sometimes adding words will make a rule book less clear. However, in this case, by adding about three words I can remove a potential misunderstanding. I think that is a win.


Three words good.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Duby
United States
Honolulu
Hawaii
flag msg tools
badge
If you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. (Romans 10:9)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Garry, Guido, Bob, Bob and Jim!

My wife asked me this question last night and I couldn't give a definitive answer, so your help is much appreciated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.