6 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Any Macroeconomics games rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Powers T
msg tools
mbmbmb
Are there any games which focus on the macro side of economics ?

Something that combines labour, capital, foreign exchange, gdp and such ? most games takes only 1 or 2 aspect.

It's probably hard to combine many different aspects of macro economics together but maybe someone will surprise me
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
'Bernard Wingrave'
United States
Wyoming
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not an expert, but what about Imperial 2030?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis Chang
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
How about Container?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andres F. Pabon L.
Colombia
Bogotá
DC
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Perhaps Wealth of Nations?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
kronlin
United States
Arlington Heights
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Any macroeconomic board game would need two sets of rules: one for Keynesians and one for monitarists. Of course, the later wouldn't be an accurate economic simulation but is still preferred to be played by the plutocratic elite.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Smith
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was about to ask for suggestions of game like this as well.

What inspired the question for me was recent news about China allegedly keeping their currency purposefully over-inflated, or artificially weak, apparently to boost their exports. Similarly, Japan is currently suffering from deflation, which is hurting their exports.

In truth I know little about either situation, but that's partly why I'd want to explore the concepts in a game. There must be both advantages and disadvantages to a strong currency, and certain circumstances that would make it advantageous to strengthen or weaken your own currency to play the world markets.