Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: automated defense turrets rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Colonel Coo

Austell
Georgia
msg tools
Do the destroyers get 2 dice at +2 only for antifighter barrage

or

Do the destroyers get +2 on combat and get an extra dice roll on anti-fighter barrage?

We play the former because the only mention of rolls is for anti-fighter barrage, but my group asked that I obtain clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Bourigault
France
flag msg tools
When you roll for AFB with the automated defence turret, you roll 3 dices (instead of 2), on which you receive a +2 bonus (instead of no bonus). That is all.
This tech does not affect the rest of the space combat.

If you only have Hylar V, your AFB will inflict 0.6 hit on average. With automated defence turret, it will inflict 1.5 hits on average. Quite an improvement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff S
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't forget to apply the Hylar bonus to your AFB rolls as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jens Gynnerstedt
msg tools
Don't forget _not_ to include Hylar V in the AFB, Hylar V ads to combat rolls and AFB is a pre-combat roll.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MacSilver wrote:
Don't forget _not_ to include Hylar V in the AFB, Hylar V ads to combat rolls and AFB is a pre-combat roll.

This is unfortunately incorrect. Hylar V Assault Laser says you get +1 to ALL combat rolls for those ships; a combat roll is defined as any die roll which you compare to the unit's combat value, and AFB certainly qualifies. The fact that it's pre-combat is irrelevant. The Hylar V bonus absolutely 100% does apply to AFB, and a destroyer with ADT would hit on 6+ for almost all AFB rolls (the N'orr and Jol-Nar being the two primary exceptions).

(Also, pre-combat effects are still considered to be part of the Space Battle anyway. For instance, you can use a Direct Hit card after a hit with Assault Cannon. But it's important to remember that PDS fire is *NOT* a pre-combat effect, as PDS fire happens in a completely different step in the activation sequence).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J K
Lithuania
Vilnius
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
True, bonuses are combined in original rules. Though if you use Shattered Ascension (http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/443869/patch-rule-set-shatte...), bonuses are not combined due to balance reasons.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
weidox wrote:
True, bonuses are combined in original rules. Though if you use Shattered Ascension (http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/443869/patch-rule-set-shatte...), bonuses are not combined due to balance reasons.

One of the many reasons I don't use that ruleset.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
andrew
Australia
bayswater
western australia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Destroyers with both Hylar V and Automated Defence Turrets getting +3 on each die roll does not seem too unbalanced to us?

People forget the game self balances to some degree with the diplomacy around the table and the political strategy..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.