Dominion» Forums » General

Subject: Baron + Estates worked for me. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
I Q
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
My wife beat me twice at Intrigue, but the third time I tried a Baron strategy. It was successful, even though it felt odd getting all those Estates. But instead of clogging my hand up, they helped because the Baron was so good with Estates.

So was that a fluke or is Baron + Estates a good strategy?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Thompson
United States
Marion
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
It depends on the mix. It can be strong. Whether it's stronger than others is the question. I really valued the strat on BSW (which has a very small mix), but then I started playing games w/ all cards on isotropic.... in that setting, it's pretty low-tier.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward
United States
New York City
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Even if you grab all the Estates and all the Duchies, you still can't end the game, and you'll lose to someone who has all the Provinces, since it will be difficult for you to get to $8.

Think about it this way: you're averaging $2 per card (one Baron, one Estate), which is the same as if you had bought pure Silver.

On the other hand, if there are also Great Halls in the mix, you might be able to empty out 3 piles (Estates, Great Halls, maybe Duchies?) and trigger game end before your opponent can get enough Provinces.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Olivier, Sr.
United States
North Smithfield
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
theory wrote:
Even if you grab all the Estates and all the Duchies, you still can't end the game, and you'll lose to someone who has all the Provinces, since it will be difficult for you to get to $8.

Think about it this way: you're averaging $2 per card (one Baron, one Estate), which is the same as if you had bought pure Silver.