Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Brown
United States
Summit
NJ
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A questions for all of the PnP experts out there. I'm interested in starting some of my own DIY projects as well as make prototypes of game ideas I have. For someone who is just starting out, what do you recommend as essential tools of the trade?

Keep in mind that I am working from the ground up. That means I need:
Printer
Any needed computer programs
Cutting tools
PnP supplies (bits, cardstock, etc.)

I want to be able to make/print:
cards
maps
custom dice and tokens

One last request. I would like recommendations to take into account value for money. I don't need to create the PnP paradise. What tools do you think have given you the best results relative to how expensive they are?

I'm new to this so I don't even know if all of my questions/requests are appropriate or important. But you are the experts so I have faith you can steer me in the right direction. Thanks.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
GodfatherPTS wrote:

Keep in mind that I am working from the ground up. That means I need:
Printer
Any needed computer programs
Cutting tools
PnP supplies (bits, cardstock, etc.)

I wouldn't worry about buying a printer. Just go to your local copy shop, Office Max/Depo, Or Fedex Kinkos. Prices for color laser printing on anything 11x17 and smaller are perfectly inexpensive. Large format printing (larger than 11x17) gets *really* expensive in color, but remains cheap for B&W.

As for computer programs, just pick a solid graphics package and stick with it until you learn it. I'm assuming you're on Windows? Paint.NET www.getpaint.net is a free graphics program that comes pretty close to rivaling photoshop for every day use. There are a handful of features of Paint.NET that I actually prefer over the more expensive commercial programs.