Mathijs van Dijk
Belgium
Brussels
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A question for avid players:

Double time says that only units without a ranged attack may be ordered by this command card.

Now, the Marian Legions Rule, the Julian Legions Rule and the Imperial Legions Rule provide infantry with a ranged attack.

What is the ruling on the use of double time with these units?

It would seem to be that an exception could be made to the rule on double time, as otherwise it would become a completely useless card (even though it's very strong otherwise).

Thanks for the help from the forum!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
my eye
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
KleinePino wrote:
A question for avid players:

Double time says that only units without a ranged attack may be ordered by this command card.

Now, the Marian Legions Rule, the Julian Legions Rule and the Imperial Legions Rule provide infantry with a ranged attack.

What is the ruling on the use of double time with these units?

It would seem to be that an exception could be made to the rule on double time, as otherwise it would become a completely useless card (even though it's very strong otherwise).

Thanks for the help from the forum!


It doesn't say that units with ranged combat can't be ordered, only that units ordered can't perform ranged combat. You can order up to 4 foot units (of any type) in a group. They don't even have to move, or move two.

From the Page 23 of the rulebook:
Quote:
Double Time: Order 4 or fewer foot units in a group (units in adjacent linked hexes that may span two sections). Each ordered unit (except war machines) may move two hexes and still engage in Close Combat. Warrior units may move 2 or 3 hexes, but must engage in Close Combat after doing so. Ordered units may not have Ranged Combat. If you do not have any foot units, order 1 unit of your choice.

Substitute "perform" for "have" so that it reads "units may not perform Ranged Combat" and it becomes clearer.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.