Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Rails of New England» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few questions, one of which about about gameplay rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Lajeunesse
France
Paris
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
badge
Hihihi... Stop that, I'm ticklish !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

Allow me to go into the questions right away...

A. Rules and player boards indicate two different orders for "Resolve Event" and "Resolve Economic Condition". So which is first, the event (as for the boards), or the economic condition (as for the rules) ?

B. The action cards which allows you to "Examine an opponent's cards and steal one, or draw the top card from the Business deck" : Can you [examine the cards and then choose to steal one or draw from the deck], or do you have to choose before : either [draw from the deck] or [examine another player's hand and steal a card] ?

C. You do not have to pay the $5 fee to play an action card you draw from the top of the deck as an action, but you still have to pay for the building if this is a business, don't you ? Also you still may choose to discard the card without playing (and paying) it at all ?

The last question is not about the rules, but gameplay.

D. Since you count all your cash held at the end of the game, and it takes several turns for a construction to bring back the expended money, why would you spend anything on the last turns ? It seems to be more effective in game purposes to keep all your money, and therefore do nothing. The only exception I can see is to claim a Special Route...

Thank you,

Thomas
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Parrott
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A) Events first see this thread

B) Good question, we played this weekend and I didn't know the answer. We went with you could look and then decide.

C) Yes you still pay the business cost. Addressed in the unofficial FAQ

D) For the most part you're right, but if the builds can get you either an additional market or let you grab a special route, it can be worth it. Since track costs are a 1 for 1 vp loss, it would only be worth it if you increase your income by a value greater than the track costs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In response to D, it can be worthwhile to build in order to speed the end of the game by claiming all the cards/special routes.

You are right, however, that if the game is almost over often it can be better to 'do nothing' than to build depots. The math is pretty straightforward though so it's not hard to figure out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Slawson
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
For question B we looked at comma location of the sentence can got Examine an opponent's cards and steal one
, or
draw the top card from the Business deck

So you can look and steal.....or if take card from deck without looking.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Longtime Gamer
United States
Bellows Falls
Vermont
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GlennSlawson wrote:
For question B we looked at comma location of the sentence can got Examine an opponent's cards and steal one
, or
draw the top card from the Business deck

So you can look and steal.....or if take card from deck without looking.



Correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arsen Shogenov
Russia
Nalchik-Russia
Kabardino-Balkarian Republic
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
New drawing card (from a hand or from a deсk) can be played at once? Or it should be taken in a hand? ("Business Spy")

P.S. If for the Card of Action of "Unexpected Inheritance" to cash , it is necessary to pay thus $5 for game of this card? I.e. you receive at cashing in of 10 or $15?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.