Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Julius Caesar» Forums » Rules

Subject: What does adding steps "in a friendly city" mean? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aram Schvey
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand that a new unit that I want to recruit (at strength 1) comes on in a friendly city where that unit can be built. That means that I already need an existing unit there before I can recruit a new one out of the pool.

However, the instructions also say that adding a step can only be done in a friendly city. Is the term "friendly" city in this context only there to differentiate it from a contested city? Otherwise it seems meaningless, as by definition, if there's a guy in a city, then it's already friendly.

I assume that there is no requirement that there be another unit there. In other words, it is permissible, as I understand it, for a unit to increase its strength even if it's alone in a city, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Providence
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Contested vs. Friendly. You have the distinction correct.

You may never step up a unit in a contested city.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.