Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: The reaction asault ground unit loose old the friendly naval unit rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
kalima kalima
Spain
flag msg tools
If in air-naval combat, the reaction asault the ground unit loose old the friendly naval units and the offensive have naval forze in the batle. The reaction ground unit loose one step and move post battle novement or the unit finish the asault move, and participates in the ground combat??

"7.45 Amphibious Assault (Offensive and Reaction)
B
Important: If Amphibious Assault ground unit(s) are without an accompanying friendly naval unit and opposing naval forces of any type end their movement in the battle hex as part of reaction movement, the assault is cancelled and the battle is considered lost. Each ground unit takes a one step loss and, if not eliminated, each unit then conducts post battle movement from the hex."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kalimadeldesierto wrote:
If in air-naval combat, the reaction asault the ground unit loose old the friendly naval units and the offensive have naval forze in the batle. The reaction ground unit loose one step and move post battle novement or the unit finish the asault move, and participates in the ground combat??

"7.45 Amphibious Assault (Offensive and Reaction)
B
Important: If Amphibious Assault ground unit(s) are without an accompanying friendly naval unit and opposing naval forces of any type end their movement in the battle hex as part of reaction movement, the assault is cancelled and the battle is considered lost. Each ground unit takes a one step loss and, if not eliminated, each unit then conducts post battle movement from the hex."


The reaction ground unit participates in the ground combat. Note that the rule refers to the Offensive units, not the reaction units. In essence the reaction units were actually at the location prior to the offensive representing an intelligence failure.

Mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess I still don't understand the whole reaction amphibious movement.

It seems like they land no matter what. Enemy naval presence is no problem.

How about Air Zone of Influence? Do they ignore air zoi while moving?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
drmark64 wrote:
I guess I still don't understand the whole reaction amphibious movement.

It seems like they land no matter what. Enemy naval presence is no problem.

How about Air Zone of Influence? Do they ignore air zoi while moving?


Per the rules, the reaction player needs to have naval escort if there is an offensive naval unit in the battle hex and they need to have any offensive air ZOI neutralized. However, once they are in the battle hex the air naval battle results do not effect their ability to remain.

Mark

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for clarifying that. The reaction player counterlandings are an important aspect of the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.