Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Dungeons & Dragons: Castle Ravenloft Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Young Vampire Start Tile Tactic rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Seth Pontiff
United States
Houma
Louisiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One of the young vampire's tactics is if he is on the start tile, the active hero deals 1 damage. Since the start tile is made up of 2 tiles, does he have to be on the stairs tile only to activate that tactic or does the other tile half count?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K.Y. Wong
Singapore
Gardens by the Bay
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The active hero takes 1 damage if the Young Vampire is on either one of the 2 tiles that comprises the Start tile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EnderWizard
United States
Niskayuna
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chromaticdragon wrote:
The active hero takes 1 damage if the Young Vampire is on either one of the 2 tiles that comprises the Start tile.


Exactly. Per the rules (available here: http://www.wizards.com/dnd/files/Castle_Ravenloft_RuleBook.p...), Page 5, under the heading Dungeon Tile Stack: "The Start Tile is where the Heroes usually enter the dungeon and begin their adventure. It is twice the size of other tiles." The part I emphasized is the key wording that describes "Start Tile" and anything you see/read that refers to the "Start Tile." In other words, it's the entire piece.

The only time you count the Start Tile as two individual tiles (hence the line that bisects it) is explained here (same page and heading as above): "The Start tile actually consists of two separate tiles that are already connected; treat each as its own tile for the purposes of movement and counting tiles."

So, since the Young Vampire's tactic refers to the words "Start tile" then we used the entire piece.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.