Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: copyright [+] [View All]
Tim Kline

Norristown
Pennsylvania
msg tools
designer
mbmb
Howdy folks. Sorry if this makes me sound like a total noob.

So, I'm developing a miniatures game based on the Wild West.

I bought a reprinted gun catalog from 1880 that I've been using for some research. The catalog is loaded with old drawings of the different guns for sale, and the descriptions are all long-winded and proper sounding.

So, question is.. can I copy art or text from a publication this old? Will there be any legal ramifications?

For one, I like the authentic drawings and would like to use them, and that would save me a big chunk of money that I barely have to spend on artists. I was also going to draw most equipment my own, but I really like the authentic look and was planning to design the equipment section of the book to resemble an old catalog anyway.

Next is the item descriptions and more. I was thinking of taking what's said and rewriting it a little, by just changing some names and things around. I don't want to just blatantly plagiarize what's in there, but it would be close. Is something like that "OK"? On that note, I also have a collection of wanted posters I was planning to copy & update too

I emailed the company I bought the book from, and they said something like "I'm sure everything in there is in the public domain by now." But, that's not really a definitive answer.

So, just looking for some opinions/advice? I can do my own drawings, etc, but I thought copying some of the old stuff would just make it seem a lot more authentic. I just don't want to get a ton of rulebooks printed up and then promptly get sued. what do you think?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
todd sanders
United States
pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
yes all public domain. use what you will
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Harrison
United States
Fisher
Illinois
flag msg tools