Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Merchants & Marauders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Docked at enemy port and helping out with the war rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aleksandar Jankovic
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens if your ship is docked at a port of a nation that you suddenly are at war with? E.g. you are English and your ship is docked at a French port. Then an event is pulled that puts the nations in a state of war. Are you booted out of the port?

Another question relating war. Do you get bounty for sinking ships that are from the enemy nation? After reading the rules it would seem so, but it just feels strange that your country would hunt you down because you helped them sink an enemy ship during war time :s
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arrrrr'lex
Germany
Geestland
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yxeri wrote:
What happens if your ship is docked at a port of a nation that you suddenly are at war with? E.g. you are English and your ship is docked at a French port. Then an event is pulled that puts the nations in a state of war. Are you booted out of the port?

Another question relating war. Do you get bounty for sinking ships that are from the enemy nation? After reading the rules it would seem so, but it just feels strange that your country would hunt you down because you helped them sink an enemy ship during war time :s


Not sure on the first question, but on the second: Yes, you DO still get Bounties, as you ar still a privateer plundering merchants. But if you get a letter of marque, you would no longer aquire those bounties.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mal Content
United States
Caln Township
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As to question one, you do not get booted out; you can't enter an enemy port if you're at sea when war is declared, but if you're already in an enemy port when war is declared, you can take a port action.

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/604424/war-in-enemy-port
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alex40K wrote:
Yxeri wrote:
What happens if your ship is docked at a port of a nation that you suddenly are at war with? E.g. you are English and your ship is docked at a French port. Then an event is pulled that puts the nations in a state of war. Are you booted out of the port?

Another question relating war. Do you get bounty for sinking ships that are from the enemy nation? After reading the rules it would seem so, but it just feels strange that your country would hunt you down because you helped them sink an enemy ship during war time :s


Not sure on the first question, but on the second: Yes, you DO still get Bounties, as you ar still a privateer plundering merchants. But if you get a letter of marque, you would no longer aquire those bounties.


You sure? I thought you still got a bounty with Letter of Marques, just extra gold...

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T. S. Higgins
United States
Turlock
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
shnar wrote:
Alex40K wrote:
Yxeri wrote:
What happens if your ship is docked at a port of a nation that you suddenly are at war with? E.g. you are English and your ship is docked at a French port. Then an event is pulled that puts the nations in a state of war. Are you booted out of the port?

Another question relating war. Do you get bounty for sinking ships that are from the enemy nation? After reading the rules it would seem so, but it just feels strange that your country would hunt you down because you helped them sink an enemy ship during war time :s


Not sure on the first question, but on the second: Yes, you DO still get Bounties, as you ar still a privateer plundering merchants. But if you get a letter of marque, you would no longer aquire those bounties.


You sure? I thought you still got a bounty with Letter of Marques, just extra gold...

-shnar


You still get bounties. Without a letter of marque, you are a pirate. With one, you are a privateer; the only difference is that your country doesn't view a privateer as having broken maritime law, while other countries see an enemy combatant.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.