Nick Hughes
Australia
Camden
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It’s a hard life being a BARD, trust me few taverns in The Sprawl pay for such services and tips are never as good as you’d like. Of course it’s made even harder when you’re a DROW there are only so many fans of Underground Music and it seems that the only way I’m ever going to get anywhere is to earn some reputation and just maybe the Ballad of the DRAGONS HOARD is the ticket to fame and fortune and a way to dodge some debts.

(NB Randomly Drew Class and Character for the novelty and decided to take the Arcane Skill Astral Traveller allowing Diagonal Movement once per turn thought it might come in handy. Cannot remember SPELL but figured its use might be better put towards Saga. Looking over the other keywords needed I had SHADOW nailed with my starting Character/Class so was thinking ORDER would be hardest to get and opted for a TITLE reward – no joy as I scored Cavalier)

Rumours of a coming Gloom proved all too real as not far from The Sprawl the Clans were rallying so with the prospect of fights and adventure to come (and debtors at my back) I decided to apply all my skills and prepared to sneak out of town. The gods were not with me and every City gate seemed watched until a passing wagon provided some cover.

(Despite good stats it took me three rolls to go into hiding – new dice me thinks)

Heading into the Mountains I heard a Devil bellowing in rage and blocking the way - fortunately in time for another quick prayer which this time was answered as I crawled into cover at the side of the path, not a moment too soon as a Howling Gale descended across the land, well at least the bit I was shivering in.

Taking advantage of the noise from the winds I moved on past the Devil knowing my luck could only hold out so long and headed into the Badlands. Here I was able to apply my (self-confessed) skills as an orator and became an honorary Cavalier so that I might further protect the land. Seems I could impress the locals with the knowledge of my quest. They asked my help in Detaining a Prisoner but alas fortune failed me. Perhaps if it had been an undead prisoner I joked with the un-amused locals.

(Rules Question: In which order can I play the cards. That is do I interact with the drawn card before playing my Cavalier or vice versa I assumed that I had the option in this case as it was a Quest but timing might be more an issue when fighting is an issue) Just read FAQ and got the answer to this one!

The weather turned and Freezing Snow descended obscuring the prisoner’s tracks. I moved on through the Swamps until stopped by a flood whose effects I know not other than wasted opportunity. Moving to the drier Plains I met a Tradesman whose entrance was unexpected. I plied him with grand tales and news of the Sprawl and he was overjoyed with and paid me handsomely, a reward I handed straight back in exchange for a scroll he had on his person conferring membership to the Order of the Rose. I headed off with a whistle and spring in my step and was promptly robbed leaving my standing in the community plummeting.

(With no Quests in play a Spell was discarded from deck. Influenced the Tradesman – PLAINS/STRANGER quite comfortably and was rewarded with Smuggler deciding there was no long term benefit to Saga cashed in and purchased the ORDER my next move saw me robbed and so passed in the Cavalier.
Rules Question: Am I able to Cash in Reward for influencing Tradesman and then spend the money or is his additional reward first)


The Snow became a Fierce Storm and so I moved to shelter in the Swamp and met a Hermit who clearly had been out of the world for a while as he was easily impressed with some Arcane knowledge, moving on it seemed I had been noted as an easy mark by the local criminal element as another Thief tried to relieve me of my purse (or perhaps my life given my current financial standing) I begged and pleaded and was spared as the Thief looked on in disgust. Dignity was at an all-time low.

(Hermit got me STRANGER I was assuming that my Class auto Influenced him (?) I now had 5 of the 8 but still saw ABODE as the hardest one to get. Scored the Swashbuckler as a reward and as the location was one stop away held onto her. I passed the Thief’s test but could not influence him to help me)

News of Orc Raiders spread throughout the land, foul news indeed and it seemed that the locals and the prisoner had bigger problems. I left the Thief shaking his head in disgust and went to find some help from a Swashbuckler who was persuaded to join me with my tales of high adventure and gold to be had. Or maybe she planned on robbing me later. We met a Trader far from The Sprawl and all alone and despite my shoddy appearance I managed to persuade him (eventually) that coming with us was a good idea.

(Escort Trader took two turns but got me my QUEST and a trip back home plus another SPELL back up)

I only hope no one is waiting for me as my purse is still a little light…..

(END OF PART ONE)

7 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Hughes
Australia
Camden
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hope you don't mind me breaking this up as was worried about

a) My ability to write it up in one go; and

b) How big a post it would be

Second one tomorrow, promise!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tristan Hall
England
Manchester
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
LIFEFORM - LATE PLEDGE NOW!!!
badge
LIFEFORM - LATE PLEDGE NOW!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jokeroz wrote:
Moving to the drier Plains I met a Tradesman whose entrance was unexpected.


Huh huh...


jokeroz wrote:
Rules Question: Am I able to Cash in Reward for influencing Tradesman and then spend the money or is his additional reward first)


To clarify, do you mean: can you discard the Tradesman for his 1 Gold value and then still take the free Trade Action he gives you? If so the answer is yes.


jokeroz wrote:
Hermit got me STRANGER I was assuming that my Class auto Influenced him (?)


Correct, the Hermit is defeated by ARCANE and the Bard is ARCANE so you automatically defeat him. All that time alone, he just wants a friend really...


jokeroz wrote:
I now had 5 of the 8 but still saw ABODE as the hardest one to get.


Good luck with that, last time I tried this Saga I ended up base-jumping into a bottomless pit...


jokeroz wrote:
Hope you don't mind me breaking this up as was worried about

a) My ability to write it up in one go; and

b) How big a post it would be

Second one tomorrow, promise!



Keep us hanging why don't cha? laugh

No worries mate, very well written - funny too. Looking forward to see if the Bard makes it or if things just go t1ts up instead...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Hughes
Australia
Camden
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry with the Tradesman I received the Reward and decided to cash that in and wondered if I could then use this gold to buy something or do I use his trading reward before being rewarded?

If that isn't clear I'll have a another look at the card and see if I can step by step it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tristan Hall
England
Manchester
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
LIFEFORM - LATE PLEDGE NOW!!!
badge
LIFEFORM - LATE PLEDGE NOW!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jokeroz wrote:
Sorry with the Tradesman I received the Reward and decided to cash that in and wondered if I could then use this gold to buy something or do I use his trading reward before being rewarded?


Short answer: yes, you could use that Gold to buy something.
Since discarding the Reward card for Gold is still part of resolving your Encounter Action with the Tradesman, you would then already have that Gold available for the following free Trade Action which you’re about to play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TTDG
United States
Fairfax
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Slight click savings, the link to part 2:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/699865/solos-session-bar...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.