Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: can i spend another player's resources? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
tim meyer
United States
Mequon
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I spend resources from another player's pool?

In the rules (pg. 12) it says:

"In order for a player to play a card from his hand (or to activate certain card effects), he must pay for it by spending resource tokens from the resource pool of a hero who has a resource icon that matches the card's sphere of influence."

This question came up when when a friend wanted to bring gandalf into play using my resources. At the time I assumed that he could not, but after examining the rulebook I found nothing to back up my assumption.

p.s. - sorry if this question has already come up... I've been searching around for it for a while without success.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Check out page 25, on the section on paying costs:

Ye Olde Rulebook wrote:
Costs can only be payed with cards or resources that a
player controls.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
george bews
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
no you can't
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Smith
United Kingdom
Pimlico
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No sadly not - you can only use resource tokens from heroes that actually belong to you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Morris
Scotland
Harrogate
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Join the BGG Folding @Home Team !!
badge
This user had more :gg: than sense
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
manydills wrote:
Check out page 25, on the section on paying costs:

Ye Olde Rulebook wrote:
Costs can only be payed with cards or resources that a
player controls.


Payed? Is that another Americanism that makes no sense in English (where the word is paid) or do I have to add spelling to the list of mistakes in the rules?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Corbin
United States
Tallahassee
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AnnuverScotinExile wrote:
manydills wrote:
Check out page 25, on the section on paying costs:

Ye Olde Rulebook wrote:
Costs can only be payed with cards or resources that a
player controls.


Payed? Is that another Americanism that makes no sense in English (where the word is paid) or do I have to add spelling to the list of mistakes in the rules?


it is spelled payed in the rule book

for curiosity's sake: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/payed
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tim meyer
United States
Mequon
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
manydills wrote:
Check out page 25, on the section on paying costs:

Ye Olde Rulebook wrote:
Costs can only be payed with cards or resources that a
player controls.


wow, missed that.

thanks all!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Anglocentrism aside, the word should be paid.

If you're keeping a list of mistakes in the rulebook for, I dunno, your own private amusement, or your resume for applying to copy-editing jobs, then yeah, add it to the list.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Ludlow
United States
Saint Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AnnuverScotinExile wrote:
Payed? Is that another Americanism that makes no sense in English (where the word is paid) or do I have to add spelling to the list of mistakes in the rules?

Do you actually play this game, or do you simply appear in every thread to complain about FFG?

We get it. You don't like the rule book.



5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.