Eric "Shippy McShipperson" Mowrer
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Ami. Geek.
mbmbmbmbmb
I was just given an EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX graphics card by a coworker. Long story short, two new PSUs later, I've got it up and running.

My current problem is that when it came up, Vista saw my monitor as a generic non-PnP monitor. It's max resolution is 1024x768. I've been running this monitor at 1440x900 for the last several years, so I know it can support higher resolutions.

I downloaded drivers from some third party site for the exact monitor I have (Envision g19lwk) because their main site is broken (never a good sign). I downloaded the latest non-beta drivers for GeForce 8800 GTX. Both installed successfully. Sweet, I can go in and change the resolution now, right? Nope. No dice. Any ideas of things to try?

ejm
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mb
robot Try it in "NOT VISTA" and see what happens, since there's your 'problem' to begin with! surprise
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xander Fulton
United States
Astoria
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmmmm. That USUALLY indicates a problem with the video card drivers. (I assume you rebooted after installing the drivers, right? Not a requirement for most driver updates any more, but for the first install...sometimes)

Did the drivers install correctly? IE., if you open up device manager (in control panel), you have a 'Display Adapter' listed that is named something vaguely like 'NVIDIA Geforce 8800 GTX' or something like that?

Also - silly question, but...what video card did you have in the system before? Was it something onboard, or possibly an ATI/AMD card? If so, there may be some relics of those drivers hanging around causing issues.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Ami. Geek.
mbmbmbmbmb