Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Elder Sign» Forums » Rules

Subject: ...In a Disturbed Mind rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Warren Denning
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The "Terror" effects are only triggered when you roll the Terror symbols on a task you failed on *that* Adventure Card. If your character moves to a different Adventure Card (b) then the "Terror" effect on Adventure Card (a) does not come into play.

Quote:
Page 7: When a player fails to complete a task and at least one of the rolled dice produced a terror result, he resolves all Terror effects on the Adventure card as well as any on the Mythos card currently in play (see “Resolving Mythos Cards” on page 9).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Collins
United States
Seymour
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
@majmalfunction
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You have to discard them in addition to any other dice you have to set aside to try to reroll the failed task.

You roll 6 dice, get 2 terror results and fail the task.
You then discard the two terror dice, focus one die if you need to, set aside a die for failing the task, then you can roll the remaining 2 dice to try to complete your task.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Copac
United States
Hudson
OH
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
blackomatic wrote:
You fail a task and roll a terror result, incurring the terror effect, and then discard the die?


If you're able/willing to attempt the adventure again, you'll have to discard the standard one die for failing, plus any dice that rolled terror.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Biggar
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
copax wrote:
blackomatic wrote:
You fail a task and roll a terror result, incurring the terror effect, and then discard the die?


If you're able/willing to attempt the adventure again, you'll have to discard the standard one die for failing, plus any dice that rolled terror.


This is still a little confusing. Do the terror effects resolve before or after you discard the die for failing the task? For example, assume you roll 1 terror die (along the some others.) If the terror effects resolved first you must discard that die along with another, if it resolves after then you can just discard the terror die as the standard task failure penalty making the terror effect moot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T W
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mark_biggar wrote:
copax wrote:
blackomatic wrote:
You fail a task and roll a terror result, incurring the terror effect, and then discard the die?


If you're able/willing to attempt the adventure again, you'll have to discard the standard one die for failing, plus any dice that rolled terror.


This is still a little confusing. Do the terror effects resolve before or after you discard the die for failing the task? For example, assume you roll 1 terror die (along the some others.) If the terror effects resolved first you must discard that die along with another, if it resolves after then you can just discard the terror die as the standard task failure penalty making the terror effect moot.


The terror effects resolve before. On a roll, you fail a task, if at least one of the dice was terror, you resolve the terror effect. *Next* you decide to either attempt again or fail the Adventure, if you attempt again, then you set aside 1 die before rolling.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.