Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Warhammer Quest» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster Movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike HIldreth
United States
Naperville
Illinois
flag msg tools
mb

A warrior is being attacked by more than one monster, the first monster renders the warrior unconscious. Are the remaining monsters still pinned to the warrior or are they free to move and attack other warriors? What if they are unpinnable monsters such as bats?

Also can a monster move through a square containing an unconscious warrior. It would make sense considering the warrior would be prone.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke Stirling
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We play it that a monster who loses a target due to a warrior falling unconscious immediately retargets. If the monster has already attacked that turn (e.g. a minotaur takes down a warrior with it's first attack), it has to use its remaining attacks without moving, just as with a warrior. But for any monster that has not attacked, they are free to move if there no conscious warriors within range to attack. But we do not remove the unconscious warrior from the board until the end of turn, and so monsters cannot move through that particular square.

I'll admit to not having actually read the rules on this for about 15 years. It's just how we've played it, so I'm not 100% if we play it strictly in accordance with the letter of the rules or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Littlemonk
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Young Forest Warrior
badge
Samurai trained to die with honor. Ninja trained to kill others. Shao-Lin trained to live forever!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mhildr wrote:

A warrior is being attacked by more than one monster, the first monster renders the warrior unconscious. Are the remaining monsters still pinned to the warrior or are they free to move and attack other warriors? What if they are unpinnable monsters such as bats?

Also can a monster move through a square containing an unconscious warrior. It would make sense considering the warrior would be prone.



Monsters are not pinned to a Warrior who is unconscious.

It is questionable whether the remaining Monsters attack other Warriors. I have found nothing in the Rulebooks that clarify this situation, although we have always played that the Monsters with the same Initiative were attacking the Warrior simultaneously. We have always played that if a Monster were attacking a Warrior that turn, then he only attacks that Warrior, even if the Warrior drops to zero Wounds. (Hell, the game is hard enough already!!)

What is certain is that a Minotaur, for example, cannot continue his second Attack on another Warrior if his first attack renders the Warrior unconscious. This is an ability reserved for "Large Monsters" as indicated in the Roleplay Book (page 82). The Minotaurs second attack is considered lost. And that is why we play the same with the other Monsters who were targeting the Warrior that turn. Their attacks are lost as well.

No one may move through or occupy the square of an unconscious Warrior. But at the end of the turn, if the Warrior is dead, his piece is removed from the board (Main Rulebook page 24), effectively making the space available next turn.

"Unconscious" (Main Rulebook page 24) is different than "prone" (RPB page 36).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.