Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Conquest of the Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: CoE classic Leaders. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve K
United States
flag msg tools
Leaders....

1/ Do they roll in battle? If so as what?

2/ For each leader you get an additional unit in a 'battle legion', so assuming all the stuff is in place... You could roll for as many as 5+5 units at the same time? That is if you have your entire leadership cadre and at least 10 infantry in the same place, you would roll 10 infantry attacks, correct?

Thanks.


Additionally..

How do you contend with combined land and sea forces? Do you face first the defending sea forces and then the land forces? Or can you land a force ignoring the sea forces? Do coasts matter? If a player is on one end of Crete and you land from a different sea area do you get to bypass that player's sea forces?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ray
Thailand
Bangkok
Bangkok
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Your heading says "CoE classic Leaders", so you might be asking about the CotE Classic ruleset, but just in case its CotE II ruleset question, here are the answers:

Knewt wrote:
Leaders....
1/ Do they roll in battle? If so as what?


In CotE-II, no, they do not roll in battle. They only add 1 additional die if there is a General and/or a Caesar. Doesn't matter how many leaders are present. Just one additional die is added.

Knewt wrote:

2/ For each leader you get an additional unit in a 'battle legion', so assuming all the stuff is in place... You could roll for as many as 5+5 units at the same time? That is if you have your entire leadership cadre and at least 10 infantry in the same place, you would roll 10 infantry attacks, correct?


Leaders are not Military Units, so do not count in the number of military units in the battle. Each player rolls 3 dice, regardless of the number of military units involved. Each player also gets 1 additional die if there is a General and/or a Caesar, regardless of the number of leaders involved.

Knewt wrote:

How do you contend with combined land and sea forces?


They don't really combine in the full sense of the word, but if illegible to have Galleys (see COMMITMENT OF GALLEYS), then it participates like any other unit. If it survives the battle, it is returned to the sea zone from which it was taken. Think of this as either direct or indirect naval support for the army fighting the battle.

Knewt wrote:

Do you face first the defending sea forces and then the land forces? Or can you land a force ignoring the sea forces? Do coasts matter? If a player is on one end of Crete and you land from a different sea area do you get to bypass that player's sea forces?


When a player chooses a naval move action, he may move any or all of his Galleys regardless of their location, any distance, to a single destination sea zone. This naval movement may not be blocked by un-Allied Galleys.

The player may (you have a choice) also declare a Naval Battle as a part of the same Action. The move part of the Action must come before the battle or not at all.

After you choose and finish your naval move action, as your second action you may perform an AMPHIBIOUS MOVEMENT. See page 11 for details and restrictions. Note that it says, "This movement may not be blocked by un-Allied Galleys."

Yes, naval units can be very useful and powerful sometimes.

Questions, Answers, and Clarifications
Have a rules question? Be sure to download and read the FAQ for CotE Classic and CotE II:
FAQ for CotE Classic - official FAQ
FAQ for CotE II - an extensive official FAQ
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
You can take my game… when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the board!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Knewt wrote:
Leaders....

1/ Do they roll in battle? If so as what?

2/ For each leader you get an additional unit in a 'battle legion', so assuming all the stuff is in place... You could roll for as many as 5+5 units at the same time? That is if you have your entire leadership cadre and at least 10 infantry in the same place, you would roll 10 infantry attacks, correct?

Thanks.


Additionally..

How do you contend with combined land and sea forces? Do you face first the defending sea forces and then the land forces? Or can you land a force ignoring the sea forces? Do coasts matter? If a player is on one end of Crete and you land from a different sea area do you get to bypass that player's sea forces?


I haven't played Classic in quite a while but I have gone over the rules alot so I'm pretty sure these are correct...

1. Leaders don't roll.
2. Yes.

I don't quite get your last questions. Galleys aren't blocked by enemy Galleys. If you disembark Combat units from a Galley, they will fight together with any Combat units that you have moved in via land. Basically, any Combat units present in a territory will fight together, no matter how they got there.

Hope that helps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Webster
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
George has it all right. Ray at was describing combat in CotE 2... Not the CotE Classic. Two different combat systems.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.