Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Summoner Wars: Master Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Brute's Knock Around. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Gardner
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Mountain Vargath Brute's Knock Around ability allows him to move a foe he has just attacked "up to three clear line spaces." Let's assume his foe is directly in front of him. Does he (a) only get to knock him backward 1-3 spaces -- like a "knockback" in other games, or (b) get to knock the foe any one of three orthogonal directions, enabling him in effect to knock the foe sideways?

We assumed (b), since it says "Knock Around," not "Knock Back." Just double-checking, though. --DG
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colby Dauch
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Option b is correct.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The designer already answered, but I want to add a general principle.

The SWs cards are very carefully written. You do not need to assume any limitations that are not in the basic game rules.

So:

- If it says "up to three clear line spaces" without further limitation, then you can knock him in any direction that is clear.

- If an Ability description refers to "a Unit", it refers to any Unit, no matter what kind it is, where it is, or who controls it -- unless it explicitly says otherwise. If it refers to "a card", then Walls are also included.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I'm not left-handed either
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Does anyone else find it amusing that a Brute can throw a gorilla farther than an elf can shoot at arrow?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quintaton16 wrote:
Does anyone else find it amusing that a Brute can throw a gorilla farther than an elf can shoot at arrow?

It's not throwing, it's knocking, presumably with fists or ram horns. And it's not farther, only equally far.



Spoiler (click to reveal)
Point taken, though. :)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.