Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Catan: Cities & Knights» Forums » Rules

Subject: Upgrading Past Level 3 Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rey Rey
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
My group couldn't decide on how to interpret a particular rule last night when we were playing C&K for the first time.

Let's say all three metropolises are taken and locked because they have the final upgrade level. Then along comes another player with a city. He cannot take any of the metropolises because they are locked but since he has a city, can he go past the level 3 upgrades? The rules were ambiguous in our opinion saying you can't build past level 3 unless you own a city which a metropolis COULD be built on... if the metropolises are locked, is there no more such city in the game?

Reason it came up was because a person had a metropolis at the level you get it then someone else caught up to them and gained the metropolis ability. That first person then locked the metropolis causing all three metropolises to be locked. The player who caught up kept the ability he gained, however. Now no one is able to upgrade past level 3 and also get the ability, thus giving that one player an advantage over everyone else. Is that right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Pollock
Canada
Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sure, there is no ceiling to the upgrades, just limitations on who gets to own the related metropolis. You have to surpass a metropolis to take it, not equal it, so, yes, you lock it down by building all the upgrades.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duncan
New Zealand
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Reynier wrote:
The rules were ambiguous in our opinion saying you can't build past level 3 unless you own a city which a metropolis COULD be built on... if the metropolises are locked, is there no more such city in the game?


This just means that you have to have at least as many cities as you have level 4/5 upgrades such that if the metropolises were available you would be able to place them on a city.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.