Gareth Cooper
United Kingdom
Gateshead
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We couldn't find an answer to this -

Is it possible to place communication, co-operation or symbiosis between animals one of which is a swimmer and one a non-swimmer?

Symbiosis picture effectively shows symbiosis between a swimmer and a non-swimmer so we suppose it is possible to do this.

Also, can swimming scavengers take from land based carnivore-kills?

Final question - can running be given to swimmers? We assumed this translates to fast-swimming creature, rather than running through the water!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dmitry
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, yes, yes..
Why not?
It is not so difficult to imagine examples of such combinations. Some terrestrial animals could eat dead swimming animals thrown on the shore (for instance a whale killed by killer whale).
But anyway, published rules of the game have higher priority [in the game 4 :) ] than biological reasonability.

And you a right that "fast" is better fit for this trait description than "running". In Russian version it is translated as "быстрое [bystroie]" which mean fast, not running. However, you could imagine very quick underwater crab running on the sea bottom.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gareth Cooper
United Kingdom
Gateshead
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Excellent, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dmitry
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And one more comment. I just browsed your site

http://www.newcastlegamers.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/IM...

and found that you put 2 parasites on a single animal. It is not allowed by the rules. Parasite should be regarded as usual trait (with the exception you can play it on opponent players), and therefore the limit of 1 trait per animal is work with it too. Moreover, it could be withdrawn as "tail" if you have "tail loss" and, yes, there are a example in biology for it!

Playing 2 or more parasites on a single animal could somewhat decrease balance of the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chien-Tsun Chen
Taiwan
Taipei
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yeh_sx wrote:
Moreover, it could be withdrawn as "tail" if you have "tail loss" and, yes, there are a example in biology for it!


It will be very interesting and educational if a list of these above-our-imagination biological phenomenon can be piled up.

One quick question. So, you can use your carnivorous to bite your another animal with tail loss to help it get rid of its parasite, right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.